Guest Post by Pilar Arsenec- “Dancing With Angels”

Standard

My final guest Advent post by my friend, Pilar Arsenec. Merry Christmas

angels

Dancing with Angels

Now that the Christmas season is upon us, I begin to reflect upon what it means to me.

Christmas has held different meanings through various stages of my life. As I’m getting older and have young children of my own, it holds yet another meaning.

I think my perspective began to change while I was pregnant with my first son. I remember going through old photos from my childhood and mourning the days of old.

The days when I would hear my maternal grandmother singing along to her favorite Christmas songs. All the while working diligently to prepare for her guests arrival.

Everything my grandmother did had a touch of class. She was a great hostess and an amazing chef.

I distinctly remember the wonderful aromas floating throughout the house.

My fashionable grandma would dress up the table with style and carefully decorate the tree with grace.

She was always thoughtful, warm and generous.

When I think of Christmas, I think of her. I think of all the joy she gave me as a child and how much she loved me.

Her radiant smile would brighten up a room. She was the sweetest person on earth.

Christmas has never been the same since she’s gone to be with the Lord.

But what I focus on now, is my two boys. My family had their tradition and now we have ours.

When I see the anticipation and joy on my son’s faces, I can’t help but smile.

I’m sure if my grandmother could see them, she would as well.

Now, all I have are her memories, which I hold on to for dear life.

Memories are like grains of sand, we hold on to tightly, to try and prevent it from slipping between our fingers and falling from our hand.

As if holding on to it tightly will somehow bring them back.

The verse which keeps coming to mind lately is “Behold, a virgin shall be with child, and shall bring forth a son, and they shall call his name Emmanuel, which being interpreted is, God with us.” Matthew 1:23

I meditate upon Emmanuel, God with us, as my heart lay bare with longing. While reminiscing, I reach out to my loving Savior and pray He fill me with His peace.

All the while imagining my grandmother dancing with angels and seeing her once again.

This is the true meaning of Christmas for me.

What is the meaning of Christmas for you? Has it changed and is it different than when you were a child?
Bio: Pilar Arsenec is a legal secretary by day and a writer by night. On her spare time she enjoys spending time with her family, reading, writing, singing and cooking. You can find her at  Ordinary Servant, http://www.ordinaryservant.com/

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: Dancing with Angels

Leave a comment