Finally here and settled…

Standard

We made the big move! Goodbye Pacific Northwest, hello cornfields in the Midwest…what a change.  It took a few months to get unpacked, we are actually almost done. I realized that moving across country while homeschooling presents a few unique challenges. Even better than that, are the opportunities we wouldn’t have had otherwise. We saw beautiful country as we drove almost 2,400 miles.   As a child dreaming of the prairie it was incredible to be in places that had lived in my imagination for decades. As my husband drove the moving van, the kids and I were able to stop along the way and catch up by evening.  

Standing on location at the Battle of Little Bighorn aka. Custer’s Last Stand was sobering. Feeling great sorrow for the lives lost, recognizing that both sides had families, an abundance of loss.  The park does a great job at honoring the fallen.

One of the highlights of our journey was in South Dakota. We had so much fun at our hotel, we extended our stay a bit since there was a water park inside. Being able to go to Mt. Rushmore for the evening presentation was awe inspiring. The air was cool, the sky clear and stars brightly shone around the silhouette of the presidents in the hillside. After  a moving documentary, the lights slowly began to illuminate the handiwork of so many people. The crowd contained many veterans and you could have heard the slightest sounds. The reverence was unmistakable. They came down to the platform and partook in a flag folding ceremony. Every moment was moving.

The next day we were able to visit Crazy Horse Memorial. While still in process, the work is so inspiring. We were delighted that our Native American citizens had such an incredible place to commemorate their heritage. Can you believe that having lunch outside of the Memorial, we met a waiter that is from the town we moved to? A thousand miles away, in a town of 700. Crazy, right? 

I loved the prairie. It was entertaining to think of the song, “where the dear and the antelope play…”  since we saw wildlife totally foreign to us. Buffalo, antelope, etc.  Outside of the Badlands we visited an authentic sod house and fed the only white prairie dogs (they say) anywhere in the world. Good times. 

Although we are extremely sad about the move, we are encouraged  for the days ahead.  God will be with us every step of the way. I am ready to write!  Hey, and being 10 degrees outside sure helps me stay indoors and focus… it was -12 on Saturday.  In that temperature, my fingers were even too cold inside the house to write. Here’s to winter!

http://www.nps.gov/libi/

http://www.nps.gov/moru/

http://www.crazyhorsememorial.org//

http://www.nps.gov/badl/

http://www.prairiehomestead.com/prairie_homestead.html

About christasterken

Committed to a life of purpose. Learning to live abundantly. Embracing creativity. Questioning. Delighting in the comforts of home and family. Determining not to settle only for how things are, but how they could be. Writing is part of who I am, so I trust In God who gave the gift to show me how I can serve Him through it. That is my life…one word at a time. Psalm 89:11a“Teach me your way , O Lord, and I will walk in your truth”

One response »

  1. You’re making the best of what God has placed before you. You go girl. I am so delighted to hear of your new adventures. Ever since I was a kid, I’ve wanted to go to Mt Rushmore. In fact, when getting the chance to choose any state to write my first report on, I chose South Dakota…why? because of Mt Rushmore. What you wrote stirs it all up inside of me again. I want to go!

    Hugs to you!

    P.S. I am so delighted you are blogging. Did you get my Christmas letter with my blog address too?

Leave a Reply

