Ever been kayaking?

Standard

394936-r1-002-00a_001

My friend Michelle and I went along the river this summer, my first time. I love the water: looking at it, going near and around it, and dreaming of being on it. I got my chance and the dream wasn’t quite like I pictured. It was everything I dreamed except for one thing. i was very nervous to realize the boat actually rocked! Imagine that. I was that naive, but after I got used to the feel of it, my enthusiasm returned and the day was beyond fabulous. Better than my dream.

Ever have days like that? There you are, ready to realize an anticipated moment when the reality of it hits and you are shaken but the unsteadiness of your choice. Only two roads here, do it…or don’t. I highly recommend jumping in. perhaps it wont be everything you envisioned, but what if. IF is a central word to life. What could happen if? Find out. Today if possible. It is the only day we have for sure, and living it fully is the only way to live without regret.

About christasterken

Committed to a life of purpose. Learning to live abundantly. Embracing creativity. Questioning. Delighting in the comforts of home and family. Determining not to settle only for how things are, but how they could be. Writing is part of who I am, so I trust In God who gave the gift to show me how I can serve Him through it. That is my life…one word at a time. Psalm 89:11a“Teach me your way , O Lord, and I will walk in your truth”

3 responses »

  1. Christa,
    I love how you look into the events of your life and turn them into life lessons. Thank you for sharing countless life experiences with me and my family and helping me to look back and gain wisdom through them. God has truly used you to deepen my life. As you know I have always loved to “jump in” But now I take more time to enjoy the space that I am in and to look back at my experiences and gain understanding and see God’s hand in my life.
    Thank you,
    Michelle

  2. Christa, Thanks so much for sharing yourself, for you truly are sharing your inner thoughts and ideas. I love reading the way you express them! If I had time and talent, you’d inspire me to create my own. Ah, but neither do I have. I will just appreciate your encouragement, insight, and inspiration. I look forward to hearing more from you. Thank you for taking the time.
    —Kristen

    • AhKristen my friend, you have so much more to offer than you realize. Do you think for a minute I have all the skills of detail work you are so gifted at? Remember that the God gave us all spiritual gifts, they are unique. We all need each other, can not function properly independently of each other ( I paraphrased that from my Beth Moore bible study today) Work it sister~Thanks for the kind words

Leave a Reply

