From city life to cornfields

Standard

From city life to cornfields...

Life is certainly different here. It is a different kind of beauty than the Pacific Northwest that I love. Yet, there is a serenity that  we are learning to appreciate. The cold however, must take a little more time to build up the same appreciation for.  We used to think 40 degrees was cold! This day? Zero.

About christasterken

Committed to a life of purpose. Learning to live abundantly. Embracing creativity. Questioning. Delighting in the comforts of home and family. Determining not to settle only for how things are, but how they could be. Writing is part of who I am, so I trust In God who gave the gift to show me how I can serve Him through it. That is my life…one word at a time. Psalm 89:11a“Teach me your way , O Lord, and I will walk in your truth”

7 responses »

  1. It’s not usually this cold! Wow–what a rough winter! I do love the pastel sky in the morning and watching the pigeons do this crazy fly around dance before settling on a telephone pole.
    Spring will be even sweeter after these temps!

  2. I love this picture!!! It so reminds me of home but yes I don’t miss the temperatures. Tonight will be 27 here (in sunny Oregon – no rain, at least not today)

  3. Life in a different land is always hard to adjust to, but as you know, there is always something to appreciate. Sometimes we have to look a little harder than others, but it is always there. I love you!

  4. The beauty is certainly different. It is as you say, a peaceful kind of beauty, especially when it is snowing and the world outside becomes quiet and the scripture verse “Be still and know that I am God” becomes real.

    It should be in the 70’s here, but no beauty in the desert during a 20 year drought. When it dips down to zero, then the high 20’s feels warm! That’s what we experienced in Ohio.

  5. Christa, I am from Anderson, Indiana, however, left at age 17 years old for the eastern shores of southern North Carlolina (7yrs), to Pennsylvania (3yrs), then on to Hawaii (6yrs), only to stop via Florida (5 years), before coming back to Indiana. I know this is not your home state, but Indiana is a friendly and comfortable place. Todd and I had to go through the reacclimating phase, and yes it does get better. I loved Hawaii and all the other states had there own beauty. I would tell my kids make the best of where we live and seek out each states unigue beauty. Soon I believe you will look out over a barron field with the amish barn, and silos off on the horizon and as the sun fades behind them you see how beautiful this state can be. Plus you have Indy just 35 minutes to your south and it is a cool city! Lots of action and entertainment! stay warm and grow where God plants you, beauty is everywhere we choose to see it! I am glad you are here and look forward to getting to know you better. Blessings and Smiles, Jennifer

Leave a Reply

