Win a copy of Linore Rose Burkard’s new book here…

Standard

Fun new post! Check out author Linore Rose Burkard below…make sure to post a comment to be in the running for a free copy of her book Before the Season Ends!  Thanks Linore! We will have a drawing for the winner on February 17th! 

Linore Rose Burkard creates Inspirational Romance for the Jane Austen Soul. Her characters take you back in time to experience life and love during the Regency England era (circa 1800 – 1830). Ms. Burkard’s novels include Before the Seasons Ends and The House in Grosvenor Square (coming April, 2009). Her stories blend Christian faith and romance with well-researched details from the Regency period. Experience a romantic age, where timeless lessons still apply to modern life. And, enjoy a romance that reminds you happy endings are possible for everyone.

Short description of Before the Season Ends

England, 1813: Romantic woes at home send Ariana Forsythe to her Aunt Bentley’s town house in the fashionable Mayfair district of London. There she finds worse troubles than those that prompted her flight from home. Under her aunt’s watchful eye, Ariana is soon steeped in high society–and at odds with Mr. Phillip Mornay, London’s current darling rogue.

Then, unexpectedly, rumour of a scandal changes Ariana forever. Her faith and her future are at stake in an unexpected adventure that gains even the Prince Regent’s attention.

Will Ariana’s faith survive this test? And what about her heart? For it is Ariana’s heart that most threatens to betray the truths she has always believed in. When she finds herself backed against a wall, betrothed to a man who cannot share her faith, how can it ever turn out right?

http://www.linoreburkard.com

 

 

About christasterken

Committed to a life of purpose. Learning to live abundantly. Embracing creativity. Questioning. Delighting in the comforts of home and family. Determining not to settle only for how things are, but how they could be. Writing is part of who I am, so I trust In God who gave the gift to show me how I can serve Him through it. That is my life…one word at a time. Psalm 89:11a“Teach me your way , O Lord, and I will walk in your truth”

15 responses »

  1. This sounds like a very intruiging story line set in one of my favorite time-periods! While it would be great to win a free copy, my intrest in piqued enough to order it…then pass it on to my daughter….then to my daughter-in-law.

  2. I love the description “Inspirational Romance for the Jane Austen soul”. That alone would make me want to read the book! I’m sure the three ladies in this house could use a book like this one.
    It sounds lovely!

  3. Myra and Denise,

    Thanks for your comments about the book. “Before the Season Ends” is indeed the kind of book you’ll be happy to pass around to your family or friends, and they’ll be glad you did.
    Thanks so much, Christa, for helping for these readers to find me. And ladies, please sign up for my monthly newsletter so I can stay in touch with you!
    Many blessings!

    Linore

  4. I have never read a book from this time frame. It sounds very interesting and I love to read Christian Romance. I don’t get to read many books in this season of life (Mom with young daughters) except the ones to my children. I would love a chance to read a good book for myself.

  5. The setting was certainly a wonderful yet dangerous time in England. Since it is near Valentine’s Day, this is the type of book I would want to get for my wife, daughter and daughter-inlaw. Actually for my niece in Florida too who is a prolific reader and blogger. Thanks for sharing the information.

    Jim

    http://www.jimlozowski.wordpress.com

  6. LOVE Jane Austin, so I would probably be interested in a book of this time period. In addition, I trust Christa’s recommendation!

  7. “Pick me, pick me!” Kidding.

    Not really.

    WHO wrote that line about the “Jane Austen soul”? Kudos on that. I agree with the earlier post by Denise about that description being enough to make me buy the book. If I had any income right now, I would! :))) In the meantime, I’ll wait and hope I win a copy. If I do, I promise to read it cover to cover, savor it and pass it on with my review to someone like my Mom. I remember the first time she ever let me read one of “her books”. I was older, but have always thought back at how much more interested I would have been in “Romance” novels if they had more Christian content.

    As an artist, the time period and location of “Before the Season Ends!” is very intriguing to me. I can honestly say, though, that I’ve never given much thought to reading books of this genre until now. I am a firm believer in enjoying a few minutes of one’s own time, no matter what season of life we’re in. In fact, with both toddlers and teens in our house, I’m becoming quite the advocate of locking oneself in the bedroom or bath for ten minutes in the afternoon!

    Thanks for the information on what sounds like a great new read for the spring. You might have turned me on to a new outlet for relaxation, Christa. I was beginning to think my homeschool magazines and “Bedtime for Frances” was about the extent of it for now.

    I will put in a good word for “The Last Lecture”, however. That is the only other book of late that I’ve actually been interested enough in to buy not just one copy, but three (sorry, we had a job back then!). I bought one for my husband, one for a friend and the audio version for me to listen to in the van on CD. I was drawn into it quickly and couldn’t “put it down”/”turn it off” until I’d gotten to the end in just one road trip. Randy Pausch did an excellent job of conveying his thoughts through the help of his friend and co-author, Jeffrey Zaslow. I’m not sure if it was just popular around here because his family moved to Virginia, or if this book made it into more hands nation-wide, but it was well worth buying and keeping on the shelf for handing down someday.

    Regards,
    Laura

  8. Hey, was that totally “un-cool” of me to just plug somebody else’s book on your blog post about the new release of somebody’s book?! I’m serious?! I’m not a blogger, so what would I know about “blog etiquette”? Except that I probably can’t spell “etiquette” without a spell checker!

    Love ya’.
    No harm meant. I just was thinking that was the last book I ever felt compelled to buy/read and it was for much the same reason – came highly recommended and turned out to be a very good selection.

    Laura

  9. Linore is a new author for me, but I’m always looking for new Christian fiction to give me a break from the “real” world. Thanks Christa for introducing me to a new author. I hope her books are at the library.

Leave a Reply

