1,011

Standard

Finally, the day I have dreamed of. I sat down and wrote out my goal of more than 1,000 words on my fiction WIP.  Since my main character is so intense, i wrote a much lighter scene about a fun day. Surprisingly, the happy scene was harder. Without a natural flow of tension, it is more difficult to put down words that don’t immediately bore me to pieces. If I am bored, others will be too. 1,011 words later I was happy to see another side of my character.

I knew it was there all along, now it can balance him out. Yes, I said “him”.   If you write fiction you know what I am saying, if you don’t, would you be surprised to hear that these characters become real to writers? We have to spend a good amount of time in their heads. That is the key to seeing how they would act, what delights/infuriates them, what view they hold of the world around them.  I’m pooped. A day out in the sun looking at chalk maples, having a picnic can do that to you. Beats my real day of lying around with a fever and sick. Ahhh, imagination.

About christasterken

Committed to a life of purpose. Learning to live abundantly. Embracing creativity. Questioning. Delighting in the comforts of home and family. Determining not to settle only for how things are, but how they could be. Writing is part of who I am, so I trust In God who gave the gift to show me how I can serve Him through it. That is my life…one word at a time. Psalm 89:11a“Teach me your way , O Lord, and I will walk in your truth”

4 responses »

  1. Hey Christa,

    Congratulations on getting this hard work of fleshing out a different side of your character done. It can be slow going when we’re “exploring” our characters, but it really brings them to life for your reader, so well done!

    I’m sorry to hear you’re sick, though!
    I wish you a speedy recovery,
    Many blessings!

    Linore
    http://www.LinoreBurkard.com
    Inspirational Romance for the Jane Austen Soul

  2. Good Morning Christa.

    I enjoyed reading your blog this morning. It inspires me to get my brain-to-pen connection going.

    Although I’m glad “he” had a nice day picnicing, etc. I’m sorry to hear you had a day of the blahs.

    Onward and upward. Keep smiling.

    (even though we haven’t met yet I just think you MUST BE a smiler!)

    I think I’ll use my sign off as:

    Notes from Uncle Jim

Leave a Reply

