My kids are HOW old???

Standard

When my days seem to meander lazily and the clock slowly ticks, it comes as quite a shock how far my life has come. Was it really so long ago I myself was 13? Apparently.

With one child preparing to enter high school and my baby often reminding me she too is advancing to the junior high group at church in September…I stop, quite sure my face must look blankly back at her with glazed eyes void of comprehension.

How could I possibly be married to a 40 year old man, I asked my husband? He laughed and reminded me that after 21 years together I too am aging. I never pictured myself with an older man, ha ha. Then again when I look in the mirror I never pictured myself IN a middle age woman.

Not that I mind aging. Heck, there is a lot to be said for getting a little wiser each year. I still make my kids laugh and nudge each other (like I don’t see!!) when I pretend to air guitar along with Aerosmith, dance to Alien Ant Farm *be glad you missed that one*, Michael Jackson I am not. The problem is, in my mind I am super limber and fly through the air. Uh, yeah. Then I spent two days physically recovering.

I guess I can believe they are that old after all, after all I have loved living every day along with them.

About christasterken

Committed to a life of purpose. Learning to live abundantly. Embracing creativity. Questioning. Delighting in the comforts of home and family. Determining not to settle only for how things are, but how they could be. Writing is part of who I am, so I trust In God who gave the gift to show me how I can serve Him through it. That is my life…one word at a time. Psalm 89:11a“Teach me your way , O Lord, and I will walk in your truth”

2 responses »

  1. I too have come to the conclusion that I must be getting older. On a recent visit to the Nurse Practitioner (NP) I admitted that I do really have an old date of birth. It just doesn’t seem to fit with how I look and feel. O.K. – the “look” part is what hit me. I’ve had the weathered, creased face for some time. I’ve earned it. Excessive sun (by choice) has graced me with that look. The grin on my face still allows the little boy to show through. Ahh . . . but those brown age spots on my hands and arms. The NP said I was in pretty good shape. I think she grinned and implied I was in good shape “for a person my age” or perhaps comparing me to her father (or grandfather)! I told her I was still a young man but I who woke up one day and looked in the mirror. I realized that Mother Nature had trapped me in an old man’s body. Wow! I plan to work for another 10 – 15 years. Am I going to “look” old to my co-workers? I suspect so. But . . . that grin and twinkle in my eye will announce to the world that I’m not giving in to old age. Keep smiling. Yes . . . you will develop laugh lines and crow’s feet in the process. But let’s face it . . . isn’t that a better presentation to the outside world ?

Leave a Reply

