Seasons

Standard

The realization has come upon me that I haven’t written for almost two months. In fact, the thought has barely crossed my mind. I am surrounded by writing books, literally, in my office…in the living room…etc. with the hope they will sprout legs and walk over to jump into my hands. Perhaps they will look at me with pleading eyes begging to just read them.  Naturally I would then be so inspired that all other obligations would cease and the words would practically write themselves as I holed up in my office.

Since that is all unlikely to happen, I have decided to cut myself some slack. Yes I am a writer. I am meant to write, it is part of who I am.  Should I then lament all the time I have wasted NOT writing?

No. God has designed each experience to have a purpose. The reality of homeschooling, writing, moving into 6 houses in a 7 year span…two of those in different states…one across the country all take time. Lots of time.

The suggestions are there: get up earlier, just make time to do it, and the list goes on. I have felt guilt and a sense of failure for not following the plans of successful writers. No more. Each person has their own challenges, successes, and dreams.

Today my priorities are providing my kids with enriching life learning experiences. A child will be entering high school and there are new things to learn. The other child is joining the ranks of junior high. The winds of change are coming through again.

Do you feel bad that you don’t meet your goals? Perhaps this isn’t the season.

I will write, but I won’t get up earlier. I get too little sleep as it is. I will develop plots, but not at the expense of my family time. I will continue to write, when my health allows.

None of this time will be wasted. I am taking Jesus up on his offer of rest, learning the unforced rhythms of grace.

I am grateful for my life today. I absolutely love what I do now.  There is nothing more important to us than the work we have at home right now. When my season changes, I will have paid attention to the details and use them. For now, I will write when I can, and appreciate the moments available to work on my beloved craft. When the season changes, I will be ready.

About christasterken

Committed to a life of purpose. Learning to live abundantly. Embracing creativity. Questioning. Delighting in the comforts of home and family. Determining not to settle only for how things are, but how they could be. Writing is part of who I am, so I trust In God who gave the gift to show me how I can serve Him through it. That is my life…one word at a time. Psalm 89:11a“Teach me your way , O Lord, and I will walk in your truth”

4 responses »

  1. Are you really only 29? (smile) This is one of the wisest revelations I have read in a very long time…Very good.

  2. Well, I had already resubscribed. In fact, I forwarded this post to 2 of my friends at work, pondering how my daughter had turned into this incredible woman/mother/wife/writer/etc.
    Love you!

  3. Wow! You are one heck of a writer. Transforming your thoughts, ideas and fears from mind to pen. (word processor).

    I admire your prioritization.

    I also like your reference to “seasons”.

    Having been unemployed for over three months has taken its toll on me. I have always worked. And worked hard I might add. I also would like to think I have put more effort into my work than those around me.
    You might say that I (the person Jim) am defined by my work.

    My first job loss came in 1997 after 23 years with one company. Depression tended to creep into my high energy personna. My pastor at the time said I was “emasculated” since my job defined who I was.

    Although my priorities still should be God, family and work in that order I still battle with idleness at home.

    I have applied for volunteer work at both the church and the community.

    Maybe it’s my season to get going on my book.

    Thanks for sharing Christa,

    Jim

Leave a Reply

