“You can’t just turn into Mozart!”

Standard

Today after piano, I was slightly frustrated by my inability to play my 3rd lesson perfectly (yeah, I know).
I expressed to my daughter, who also had her lesson, that next week those pieces would be mastered. She replied, “Mommy, you can’t just turn into Mozart in three weeks! I have been playing for 4 years. THAT’s something to remember!”
The wisdom of youth. Now, who says I can’t turn into Mozart in three lessons? More on that later. I suppose if I master that you will see me in the papers, not just on my blog 🙂

About christasterken

Committed to a life of purpose. Learning to live abundantly. Embracing creativity. Questioning. Delighting in the comforts of home and family. Determining not to settle only for how things are, but how they could be. Writing is part of who I am, so I trust In God who gave the gift to show me how I can serve Him through it. That is my life…one word at a time. Psalm 89:11a“Teach me your way , O Lord, and I will walk in your truth”

2 responses »

  1. Mozart was a child prodigy. As a toddler his Dad taught him both piano and violin.

    He began composing at age 5. Mozart also played duets with his sister.

    Mozart wrote his first symphony at age 8 and his first opera at 12.

    Unfortunately Mozart developed bad health and died just before his 36th birthday.

    All of us have been gifted in different ways. We typically have other desires however. For example although I might like to aspire to become a great basketball player I have a 5 foot 6 inch handicap. I also should not try to learn how to swim by reading a book on swimming.

    All this to say “Go with your strengths”. Consider writing, homeschooling and skating. Piano will come though albeit more slowly. To paraphrase your astute daughter, remember what the old snail Herbie said: “Have Patience, Have Patience, Don’t be in such a hurry”.

  2. That is a great lesson to learn. I think as moms (or even as just adults) we expect that we can do everything right; perfectly with the minimum of time invested. Your daughter is right on the mark. There can be joy in the process if we let it happen and as we keep our eyes on the goal! Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

