A beautiful spring day…

Standard

It has been in the low 80’s the last few days. Bright blue sky, puffy white clouds and green everywhere! I have to point this out, since when I moved here I honestly was worried it was the brownest place I had ever lived. What joy we are getting from the spring season. There are robins all over our neighborhood, flowers are blooming and it is pretty. Yep, I said it.  I wish my mom could come back and visit right now, much different than when she came in December 🙂

My girls decided the play outside under a tree with Polly Pockets. With my oldest approaching high school this is a rare treat indeed for little sister. The house feels peaceful, the windchimes are singing and all is right in our day. What an easy thing to take for granted, ignored in the bustling of everyday living. I thank God that he has brought awareness to my heart, that I might also pass on gratitude to our children.  Without the darkness we can’t appreciate the light. So today I thank God for this gift of time.

About christasterken

Committed to a life of purpose. Learning to live abundantly. Embracing creativity. Questioning. Delighting in the comforts of home and family. Determining not to settle only for how things are, but how they could be. Writing is part of who I am, so I trust In God who gave the gift to show me how I can serve Him through it. That is my life…one word at a time. Psalm 89:11a“Teach me your way , O Lord, and I will walk in your truth”

One response »

  1. One of my favorite poems is Browning’s:

    Year’s at the spring,
    Day’s at the morn,
    Morning’s at seven,
    The hillside’s dew-pearled.

    The lark’s on the wing,
    The snail’s on the thorn.
    God’s in His Heaven,
    All’s right with the world.

Leave a Reply

