Homemade laundry soap for cheap! Thanks Angie

Standard

My trusted friend Angie gave me this soap recipe and I can’t wait to try it. I have been giving alot of thought about saving money and researching simpler things like cleaning supplies. Her email couldn’t have been more timely..

Angie says,

4 cups hot water
1 bar of soap(Fells Naptha)
1 cup Washing Soap(Arm&Hammer)
1/2 cup Borax
20 drops essential oils(optional)

Grate bar of soap & add to sauce pan with water. Stir on medium heat until melted.
Fill 5 gallon bucket half way with hot tap water. Add melted soap, soda and borax.
Stir well until powder is dissolved. Fill bucket to top with more hot water. Stir and cover.
Let sit overnight to thicken. Add 20 drops per 2 gallons of essential oils after soap cools.
Fill Laundry container half way with hot tap water and fill the other half with soap. Mix together
and use 1 cup per load.

Just to give you some tips of what I have done from experience after making my second batch.

I use my Pampered Chef cheese grater to grate the soap. For just a deeper cleaning soap I used
a bar of fells naptha and a bar of dove soap. I also added a cup of Oxi Clean and Biz to the whole 5 gallon bucket.
You can find Fells Naptha bar soap in the cleaning section at Main Street Payless.  I have had a really hard time
locating Essential oils but I found them at Hobby Lobby in the lotion making section. I love fresh rain and the berry ones.

Let me know if you have any questions. 1 batch cost me about $15 and it lasted our family almost 6 months and that is with
half a box of borax and soda left over.  I have now made a year supply for $21.
I also put 1 cup of detergent in my mop bucket to wash my floors

For a fabric softner you can take your old softner bottle and fill half water and half distilled white vinegar(add essential oils if scent wanted).
Sounds way too simple and i was very skeptical but it works awesome!”

About christasterken

Committed to a life of purpose. Learning to live abundantly. Embracing creativity. Questioning. Delighting in the comforts of home and family. Determining not to settle only for how things are, but how they could be. Writing is part of who I am, so I trust In God who gave the gift to show me how I can serve Him through it. That is my life…one word at a time. Psalm 89:11a“Teach me your way , O Lord, and I will walk in your truth”

Leave a Reply

