Absorbing some important truths

Standard

I have been going through some difficult growth lately, defining how God must see me by my actions versus his truths.  Today I am absolutely euphoric. Some things finally clicked, my recent unhealthy choices are redefined according to God’s word.  I am working through When the Good News Gets Even Better by Neb Hayden. I have been searching for something like this study for awhile and it exceeds my expectations. Every day I look forward to doing the study.

Today’s truths are from this study “God never defines us by our behavior….Why? Because sins are what you do, not who you are. Who you are is a saint who sometimes messes up…If you do not believe God is pleased with you as a person, you will spend the rest of y our life trying to make yourself pleasing to Him. There are not enough verses you can memorize, Bible studies you can attend, or sins that you can avoid for you to ever feel deserving of God’s favor.”  “Why is considering your identity so important? Because what you believe about yourself will determine your behavior.”  Day 5 by Neb Hayden.

Today I learned that I am(you too!) :

*Being made holy

*JEsus’ friend

*Forgiven

*Blameless in His sight

*Free from accusation

*Reconciled

*I am the righteousness of God

God never defines us by our behavior”  We shouldn’t either. I pray that someone else, who  needs these same words today, will be blessed and encouraged. All we have to do to receive these immeasurable gifts is believe Jesus is the son of God, who has come to save us from sin. That is it. We can’t earn it. Freebie of the day, any day. If you haven’t asked Jesus to be your friend,  please consider it now. My life has been changed in more ways than you can imagine.  Yours will too, it is God’s promise.

About christasterken

Committed to a life of purpose. Learning to live abundantly. Embracing creativity. Questioning. Delighting in the comforts of home and family. Determining not to settle only for how things are, but how they could be. Writing is part of who I am, so I trust In God who gave the gift to show me how I can serve Him through it. That is my life…one word at a time. Psalm 89:11a“Teach me your way , O Lord, and I will walk in your truth”

2 responses »

  1. Wow. Such a cool post!!! Yes, let me also say that Jesus is my forever friend, and that is has changed my life in incredible, unexplainable ways!

Leave a Reply

