Water front view anyone? Oh wait, we shouldn’t have that!

Standard

Art was supposed to go to church early to work the coffee bar. On his way down the stairs he saw water. Lots of it.

The water heater is in a closet off the kitchen.

Apparently it has been overflowing…all night. The kitchen, bathroom, and pantry all had about 1/2 inch. It leaked under the edge of the wood floor into the living room a bit. The dining room is carpeted and that is saturated in about 1/3 of it. Everything on the floor of the pantry, soaked. In an alcove I had leaned many wall pictures in frames until I found the homes, uh yeah. The water leaked under the door into the garage and is streaming around several places there.

So, I call the “home warranty” that we got with the house for the first year. They might cover the water heater if it is faulty but someone will have to call me in the next 24 hours, maybe. They don’t cover any secondary damage (which is everything).  I called State Farm. Most of the claim centers are closed on Sunday, but the Indiana one opens at 11. I have heard stories about not filing claims, do it yourself. However, that is not an option. I pray it goes smoothly. The baseboards are already warping, as is the vanity in the bathroom. On the upside, all of my scrapbooks are about 1 inch above where the soaked carpet is. THAT would have been disaster, so we are very thankful today that our water heater is on the bottom floor! Now, we can dream of showers all day. No hot water of course. Not quite the fun last day alone we had planned…but hey, we are still together right?

About christasterken

Committed to a life of purpose. Learning to live abundantly. Embracing creativity. Questioning. Delighting in the comforts of home and family. Determining not to settle only for how things are, but how they could be. Writing is part of who I am, so I trust In God who gave the gift to show me how I can serve Him through it. That is my life…one word at a time. Psalm 89:11a“Teach me your way , O Lord, and I will walk in your truth”

5 responses »

  1. That sounds like the time my washing machine hose burst in midddle of the night. The washing machine is in a closet in the kitchen, water was probalby an inch – it ended up flooding my living room, ran down the wall into the spare bathroom, but not much thankfully. Flooded my bedroom and the master bath. It was a mess and took forever to get the carpets dried out. Pushing the water out of the kitchen is what really made it wet in the other rooms.

    I live in a duplex, and still have no idea how much went into their place. Probably a lot, but from what I heard, the neighbors had so much stuff piled in there that they probably never knew the difference of wet carpet or not.

    I’ve thought about moving my scrapbooks even higher after that. I’m thinking about you girl!

Leave a Reply

