The Lullaby of breeze

Standard

Today was perfect weather. The temp reached about 70 and the sky was blue. A breeze moved through the air, affecting whatever it reached.
The kids were busy loading up movie clips from their cameras onto the TV. I plopped on the couch and for the first time in months,enjoyed the comfort of a blanket. Imagine if you will, this moment. The heavy weight of a blanket crocheted by my great aunt, which smelled like cedar from the chest. Body covered, except for my feet. The air was cool and sweet. The kids were laughing and talking and we were enjoying the moment, but for me it all changed when the breeze came through the window. I could feel is on the tops of my uncovered toes. Cool and tingly.

My bangs moved slightly against my forehead. I could hear the wind blowing the trees along the road. Windchimes sang in muted tones, blowing in different directions. The wind carried the sound of the highway in the distance. The curtains blew now and again. Suddenly, all of these factors lulled me to sleep. I couldn’t fight it, wouldn’t want to. The lullaby of breeze.

About christasterken

Committed to a life of purpose. Learning to live abundantly. Embracing creativity. Questioning. Delighting in the comforts of home and family. Determining not to settle only for how things are, but how they could be. Writing is part of who I am, so I trust In God who gave the gift to show me how I can serve Him through it. That is my life…one word at a time. Psalm 89:11a“Teach me your way , O Lord, and I will walk in your truth”

Leave a Reply

