Roosters make me cry

Standard

Nothing against roosters. My grandpa liked his chickens and for some reason roosters make me nostalgic for him. My husband and I were just at Lowe’s, happily dreaming over cabinet door pulls. (Yes, that is our idea of a romantic date, what can I say).  I was delighted to reach and to touch some rooster shaped pulls, laughing as I showed my dh. Suddenly my eyes filled with tears and was overcome with sorrow. It is not like my grandpa had a collection of roosters, talked about them incessantly or even had a rooster pull handle. I just know they cracked him up sometimes. And sometimes he cracked me up.  A few months ago, the way my husband used a piece of bread to wipe up the stew in his bowl made me burst into tears at the dinner table. That’s what my grandpa did.  I miss him. It has been since 2002, and even though he usually made me nuts, how I’d love to tell him how much I love him. He’d say, “Yeah.”  So, do I get the drawer pulls? Nope, I need stability in my handles. No emotions. Anyway, what would be next? I can’t afford to redecorate around what makes me miss people 🙂chickens

About christasterken

Committed to a life of purpose. Learning to live abundantly. Embracing creativity. Questioning. Delighting in the comforts of home and family. Determining not to settle only for how things are, but how they could be. Writing is part of who I am, so I trust In God who gave the gift to show me how I can serve Him through it. That is my life…one word at a time. Psalm 89:11a“Teach me your way , O Lord, and I will walk in your truth”

One response »

Leave a Reply

