To write or to live

Standard

I have been contemplating for months why I am not writing much this year. In fact, I realized I haven’t written since April. Ouch. I really do love writing, but if so, why now write?
Reading someone’s words this morning solidified my answer.
( http://memoriesoncloverlane.blogspot.com/2009/09/what-not-to-regret.html )
My husband said it is my priorities and he is right. I am having a hard time writing because I am busy living. I have admired and sometimes envied people who write, homeschool, have a business etc while raising a family. That is 09280025_0001IMGP4984apparently not my path at this time. For this past year, I have been painfully aware of how fast the time is going with my kids. I don’t want to miss a minute. People have asked me about how I “do it”, missing out on time for myself. Enjoying life with my husband and family, is truly a gift for myself. They are moments I want to not miss, savor…and sometimes capture on paper.
I have learned something about myself. I can become really, really focused on things, all in the name of capturing moments. Or I don’t capture any. Balance is so elusive, it is the chorus of womanhood. My song for now is to continue to be fascinated by my life and when time allows capture it. But may I never miss the living of each second of my life.
I will write, and will continue to carve out a chunk here and there. Learn to set healthy time boundaries that are productive in areas I dream of. But, I won’t do it at the expense of studying the life of these precious children or finally slowing down to sit with my husband each evening.

About christasterken

Committed to a life of purpose. Learning to live abundantly. Embracing creativity. Questioning. Delighting in the comforts of home and family. Determining not to settle only for how things are, but how they could be. Writing is part of who I am, so I trust In God who gave the gift to show me how I can serve Him through it. That is my life…one word at a time. Psalm 89:11a“Teach me your way , O Lord, and I will walk in your truth”

One response »

Leave a Reply

