October

Standard

I love October. It is my favorite month of the year. As a child, we always picked out the perfect pumpkins from Doi’s Pumpkin Patch (long since covered by a hospital parking lot) and took them home to be carved into the most creative ideas we could come up with. After 30+ years I am seeing a remarkable resemblance year after year. Two eyes, a nose, one or two teeth and to shake things up a set of eyebrows!

My dad was my pumpkin hero. I would start ambitiously, but the reality of pumpkin gutting didn’t get my adrenaline flowing. I just wanted to carve. He would finish up for me, while I am sure I sighed loudly with relief.  Dad would take me trick or treating while Mom passed out candy.  When I see the colors change, I smile a little brighter. It takes me home.  Do you love Fall , or does another season hold #1 for you?pumpkin

About christasterken

Committed to a life of purpose. Learning to live abundantly. Embracing creativity. Questioning. Delighting in the comforts of home and family. Determining not to settle only for how things are, but how they could be. Writing is part of who I am, so I trust In God who gave the gift to show me how I can serve Him through it. That is my life…one word at a time. Psalm 89:11a“Teach me your way , O Lord, and I will walk in your truth”

One response »

  1. Hmmm….fall. Leaves are changing their color and falling from trees, pumpkins and scarecrows decorate fields and yards, hay rides, harvest parties, hmm….and then Thanksgiving! We must give thanks to the One who has given this and everything else to us – Jesus Christ. We should also thank Him for what He has done for us – dying on the cross to take the punishment for our sins (the wrong things we do). The only way we can be with Him eternally is to accept the gift that He is offering to us – salvation. All we need to do is ask, and really mean it.
    I hope this effects and inspires each of your lives.
    I like fall too, Mrs. Sterken, but I also like summer, spring, and winter – all seasons are great :)! Thanks for the post. Waiting for more :)!
    God bless you and everyone else!
    With love and fall greetings,
    ~ Talia

Leave a Reply

