Down’s Syndrome

Standard

What is your first thought when you read those words? Do you get a preconceived idea in your mind of what it really means?  I know I used to. That was until we found out Allison was coming into our lives, enriching our family. Almost 15 years ago my cousin was born with Down’s. None of us were sure what to expect, but we knew we were ready to love her.

It was a very difficult time for her parents. She definitley brings a specific set of challenges with her, but let me assure you that our world is better becasue of the joy she has brought.  Kids with differences all matter, and it is so easy to look the other way because we aren’t sure how to act perhaps. Don’t look away, you will be missing out. She is sunshine and pure love, stubborn and mischeivous, with a crack up sense of humor. She is…a human being with real feelings, value and worth.

My family has been enjoying a book recently I’d encourage you to check out. The author wrote it about the life well lived of her brother, Jim, who had this syndrome. It does a great job of giving insight into what life is like for the parents as well… 

Onward, Crispy Shoulders!

An Extraordinary Life with an Extra Chromosome by Mary Haakenson Perry 

About christasterken

Committed to a life of purpose. Learning to live abundantly. Embracing creativity. Questioning. Delighting in the comforts of home and family. Determining not to settle only for how things are, but how they could be. Writing is part of who I am, so I trust In God who gave the gift to show me how I can serve Him through it. That is my life…one word at a time. Psalm 89:11a“Teach me your way , O Lord, and I will walk in your truth”

One response »

  1. How wonderful. I completely agree. 100 %. She must be a wonderful person.
    Before I was born, the doctors thought I would have Down’s. My parents would’ve loved me even if I did, I know, but I didn’t have Down’s. Everyone is equal – so I don’t see why we should treat people with special needs differently than we treat ourselves. They matter, just like we do, and God loves all of us.
    With love,
    Talia

Leave a Reply

