We can’t recapture the magic, but we can celebrate now

Standard

Feeling a little blue about not being at home in CA for Christmas got me thinking. It just doesn’t feel right not being with my parents. It causes moments of despair that they will not come here. Yesterday my pastor talked about how things disappoint us, don’t work out like we thought, etc. for Christmas. No one, he pointed out, could understand this more than Mary and Joseph. Their experience was nothing like they ever planned either…yet look what it brought.

My husband and I talked this over, and it is true that things aren’t always as hoped for. Even the best plans can bring bitter realities. We will not dwell on not being together any longer. If only we could, life would be sweet indeed. Our reality is that is not financially feasible. So, where does that leave us?

Celebratory! Yes- the girls are sad that G and G aren’t coming but they still have great anticipation. We are going to join them.  For most of my adult life, and for most of my children’s lives we have been together with our family. What a joy and blessing these times have been. The new reality is that they are 11 and 14 and we can’t recapture the magic of their younger days. No sorrow should be found. Indeed we should celebrate! My family was there for every first- how precious is that? They were together for Santa’s cookies, Christmas morning, stockings, tree farm visits, decorating. We all experienced those magical times together. No one missed out. Is that not something to celebrate? I think it is.

We will still have a special time this year, although a bit quieter. The focus has shifted with the age of the girls. We will go to church on Christmas eve and celebrate. Christmas day will bring peace and joy to our home, and I hope to yours. Our attitude influences what our environment to be. I choose peace. Christ’s birth will be what I strive to focus on- and that is the real cause anyway. It is time to celebrate.

About christasterken

Committed to a life of purpose. Learning to live abundantly. Embracing creativity. Questioning. Delighting in the comforts of home and family. Determining not to settle only for how things are, but how they could be. Writing is part of who I am, so I trust In God who gave the gift to show me how I can serve Him through it. That is my life…one word at a time. Psalm 89:11a“Teach me your way , O Lord, and I will walk in your truth”

One response »

  1. Your words touch my very heart and give me a yearning to see you all…but a remembrance and peace about where God has placed you and your family, and me and mine.
    I am praying for all of you!
    May God bless you! He loves you so much, and we all do too.
    With much prayer,
    Talia DeAndrea

    Merry Christmas, my friends!

Leave a Reply

