Is the phone our friend or foe?

Standard

I am frustrated with myself. This morning was so on the ball, errands were even done by 10:30 – the exact designated time to start writing.  Also the time when the mail arrived. Instead of bills, a present! We had a great time opening the box, then the phone rang. This call was important to me, however we talked for over an hour. Now feeling totally behind, as she probably was, I looked at the clock and it was lunch. Argh!  Then, the phone rang, again. And again. Now I am desperately trying to do my girls history lesson, watching the clock realizing how much didn’t get done. The phone rang. I ignored it.  Ever notice how no one will call for weeks, then it seems like everyone you know is free the same day? 🙂

I tried to analyze magazine writing markets while simultaneously organizing a project for my daughter that required my hands (and for her enjoyment, my attention). Not totally realistic.

Feeling slightly resentful, I glared at the machine that started this downward time spiral. While the phone is a treasured commodity that allows us to connect with friends, call my parents weekly and keep us in touch with the world…it can be my worst enemy. Add to that the time zone difference of most of your loved ones living three hours earlier than you and the challenge begins.

When I remember to shut it off, our days are smoother and more productive. I intend to turn it off before writing, after school flipping it back on but often forget. On those days, little goes as planned.  

We are doing important things here. So are you. The phone can be a time stealer when we forget that WE are the ones in charge of it, not the other way around. Do you have important dreams to accomplish? Does the distraction of the phone pose a problem for you, or you the master multi-tasker?

I used to be.  Not any more. I don’t want to miss the moments, for lack of paying attention to them. One focus, one thing God called me and equipped me to do at that moment.  Let me not be too distracted to see it.

About christasterken

Committed to a life of purpose. Learning to live abundantly. Embracing creativity. Questioning. Delighting in the comforts of home and family. Determining not to settle only for how things are, but how they could be. Writing is part of who I am, so I trust In God who gave the gift to show me how I can serve Him through it. That is my life…one word at a time. Psalm 89:11a“Teach me your way , O Lord, and I will walk in your truth”

5 responses »

  1. Hi Christa,
    Try having your daughter screen the calls. When I’m supposed to be working my daughter answers the phone. If it’s just someone wanting to chat, she politely tells them I’m in my “office” and not to be disturbed. If it sounds like someone in need of encouragement or prayer, she puts me on the phone.
    Isn’t it wonderful to have older daughters in the house?
    Blessings,
    Carol

    • That sounds good to me. Sometimes in the past, friends try to get them to grab me anyway. The machine takes some of the pressure of my kids. Yes, it is WONDERFUL in many ways to have these older girls. Thanks Carol!

Leave a Reply

