Where’s my artisan bread?

Standard

I am reading a book about artisan bread in 15 minutes. Anyone can make delicious fresh bread it says at a fraction of the cost. Here is my turn out, less than three inches high. Ahhh, the aroma was there. My water filled pan beneath my loaf to get just the right crust. No height to speak of, hard to make a sandwich out of this. Any tips? Also, where can a person buy a pizza peel?

About christasterken

Committed to a life of purpose. Learning to live abundantly. Embracing creativity. Questioning. Delighting in the comforts of home and family. Determining not to settle only for how things are, but how they could be. Writing is part of who I am, so I trust In God who gave the gift to show me how I can serve Him through it. That is my life…one word at a time. Psalm 89:11a“Teach me your way , O Lord, and I will walk in your truth”

3 responses »

  1. What yeast did you use? Did you buy it in a little row of three? If so, ditch those, and get yourself to Gordon Food Services on 53rd street, kitty corner to Arby’s, and backing up to Walmart’s parking lot.

    You can get a bag of yeast that you open and pour into a large container – I use a quart yogurt tub. Keep it in the fridge and it’ll last a year. You will be overwhelmed by the difference! Whereas you now get a few bubbles for your trouble, you’ll see a wave of yeast pumping, alive and ready to work! And the savings is HUGE! That loaf will be much more economical.

    Your bread looks very good, though. The crust looks well browned and crunchy – mmmm, yum! Don’t give up – keep working on developing it, and it will become second nature to you.

    Another thing we’ve discovered, actually doing our own tests, is that just like all the on-line articles I’ve read will say, King Arthur Flour is best. It is usually priced at 3.99 per 5# bag at Meijer. When it goes on sale, I pick up several bags.

    Happy Baking!

  2. Well, it still looks yummy to me! I’ve been experimenting with sourdough bread lately after seeing a magazine article with a recipe for making sourdough started. Each loaf is better than the last. Breadmaking just takes practice, I guess.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

