A house provides…

Standard

“A house provides shelter, but home is what makes life easier and better for each member of it; home should give health to the tired body and nerves and refresh the mind. The home must have a certain sense of harmony that will bring a feeling of pleasure to all who come into its circle. Each home must have what we call individuality; that is,  it must not be just like every other home, but express the people who live in it.”

The Home and Its Management: A Handbook for Homemaking by Mabel Hyde Kittredge, 1867

I came across this in TEACH and felt it was a beautiful expression of how we view home. HOpe you enjoy it also.

About christasterken

Committed to a life of purpose. Learning to live abundantly. Embracing creativity. Questioning. Delighting in the comforts of home and family. Determining not to settle only for how things are, but how they could be. Writing is part of who I am, so I trust In God who gave the gift to show me how I can serve Him through it. That is my life…one word at a time. Psalm 89:11a“Teach me your way , O Lord, and I will walk in your truth”

4 responses »

  1. Your story brings back so many memories of yester-year growing up in the forests outside of NYC. I can almost feel, smell, and hear that walk you took with Spring just around the corner beckoning me to really come and see what God was restoring or making new. After our “nature” walks we would come bursting into the house to feel that cozy warmth that not only came from the boiler, but from my mom that turned a house into our home. This memory lives within me warming my heart and soul and I thank you for taking me back there once again.

Leave a Reply

