My Grandpa’s voice

Standard

In Fall 2001 I went to see my grandparents and interviewed my grandpa on tape. This was a big deal, he wasn’t “into” that sort of thing. It was fun…two weeks later a series of strokes hit him that eventually took him.  This was particularly hard becuase I had a falling out with him during our visit. We ended fine but I have always regretted it.

I have never had the courage to listen to the tape, worrying I would cry. In October of this year I found a local business that would make the tape into a CD.  This was exciting!  A series of tragedies for the business owner has made it impossible to retrieve my tape.

Today he dropped my original tape off! I am overjoyed to have this in my possession again. My grandpa’s voice told me something special that week. I said, “Grandpa, tell me you love me. ”  He laughed, not one to use those words. Continuing to tease him, he finally said it. Are those words on those tape? I have always hoped. We will see, but our family finally has this precious possession again. I miss you Grandpa.

About christasterken

Committed to a life of purpose. Learning to live abundantly. Embracing creativity. Questioning. Delighting in the comforts of home and family. Determining not to settle only for how things are, but how they could be. Writing is part of who I am, so I trust In God who gave the gift to show me how I can serve Him through it. That is my life…one word at a time. Psalm 89:11a“Teach me your way , O Lord, and I will walk in your truth”

2 responses »

  1. I also did interviews with my oldest family members, and I recorded it on cassette. Now that they’ve passed away, there are just no words to express how precious their voices are to hear!

Leave a Reply

