The Lord says, “I am holding your hand”

Standard

For the past month or so I have been processing through some heavy, burdensome mental strains.  Life has been undeniably full, yet strangely empty in some way. It is natural to go through seasons where we don’t hear God as clearly, oft from our own lack of diligence in seeking Him out. 

There is an area that I have been trying to flesh out what it means in my life. I have come out of a dark place where I believed the distracting whispers, “Maybe you can’t make a difference here for God. Maybe you just don’t matter here.”  Understatement to tell you this was devastating. Then one morning the realization that those whispers would never, ever come from God smacked me full on.  Hope sparked again as a dear friend has been helping me flesh out what this means for my life.

One of the areas that I am passionate about is Women’s ministry. I am not talking about existing programs, valuable as they are, but instead the urgency of ministering to those who are in the shadows.  This is a much larger thought process than i will share here today but my friend and I feel strongly that something great is coming and we are excited!

This mornings verse was sweet encouragement. Although God was speaking to Israel through the prophet Isaiah, I can so relate. Sometimes my behavior has parallel the Israelites more than I care to admit.

In Isaiah 41:9

 ” From far across the earth (the country?) I have brought your here and said, “You are my chosen servant. I have not forgotten you.”

He hasn’t forgotten me, or you. There is more…

Isaiah 41:13 “I am the Lord your God. I am holding your hand, so don’t be afraid. I am here to help you.”

I am grabbing that hand and holding on for dear life sometimes, other times it is a gentle grasp. No matter what form it takes, holding the hand of God is the best choice I ever make. I pray today that you  too will be encouraged.

About christasterken

Committed to a life of purpose. Learning to live abundantly. Embracing creativity. Questioning. Delighting in the comforts of home and family. Determining not to settle only for how things are, but how they could be. Writing is part of who I am, so I trust In God who gave the gift to show me how I can serve Him through it. That is my life…one word at a time. Psalm 89:11a“Teach me your way , O Lord, and I will walk in your truth”

8 responses »

  1. Great entry, Christa – we sometimes forget how simple it is: God loves us, and He gave up everything to reach out a hand to us. Why do we persist in believing the message isn’t for us? I love the much-needed reminder. In fact, I read in “Jesus Calling” last night that the promise that He’s always there, and that we can trust Him is something we teethe on, but tend to forget as adults. Childlike faith is once again elevated over adult “wisdom.” Praise the Lord for His loving affirmation of you in this process…thanks for sharing! Lisa

  2. Awesome thoughts Christa. I am so glad you shared them. With Tim and I planning to take the children and work in Kenya, it is nice to feel God showing me we are doing the right thing. Thanks for leading me to the hand of God this morning.

    Beth

  3. Great piece, Christa, and right on the mark. It struck home with me because many years ago, before you were even born, I had a dream. I was climbing a rocky mountain and it was rough going. I stopped, and looked up (a little symbolism here) and there stood Jesus, in a brown robe, with his hand outstretched to me. That dream has never left me, though sometimes I do forget to “look up” for a while; when I do, after stumbling around on my own for a bit, there He is, patiently waiting. He does a lot of that with me! He makes me do the reaching…. that’s important. I told this dream to a dear friend right after it happened, and told her the brown robe bothered me; it was s’posed to be white. She explained that she thought He was trying to show me He is always right here with the common folks, not high on a pristine white cloud in a white damask robe…He is touchable. Reachable.

  4. Christa you have been missed…so glad you’re back!! Your honesty is so refreshing. I am inspired to stop listening to the whispers in my ears. It is so subtle when we begin listening to the thoughts that are not of the Lord, and all of a sudden a few months have gone by, and the darkness has settled in for us to believe. I cannot think of a better fit for you than women’s minisry. Your warm and gentle spirit paired with your energetic sense of humor will be exactally what women need. May He bring them to you in ways you cannot even imagine yet. I cannot wait to see how he uses you to further His kingdom. God Bless my friend 🙂

  5. Christa,
    Beautiful scriptures and how they speak to you/us from a beautiful heart. Thanks for allowing God to speak through you.

Leave a Reply

