The sound of Legos

Standard

I was surprised to realize that the sound of Legos has become uncommon. For years they have dominated our children’s imaginations. Then, young adulthood infringed upon their playtime with new interests and commitments.  What sweet music it is to hear them laughing loudly, moving pieces around, and discussing the logistics of new creations. As years go by, I am more aware that each time might be the last time for innocent toy dreams. But this moment, I am stopping to notice. Relishing each second that I eavesdrop, knowing if I approach the spell might be broken. Play on- and never lose the childlike joy of imagining.

About christasterken

Committed to a life of purpose. Learning to live abundantly. Embracing creativity. Questioning. Delighting in the comforts of home and family. Determining not to settle only for how things are, but how they could be. Writing is part of who I am, so I trust In God who gave the gift to show me how I can serve Him through it. That is my life…one word at a time. Psalm 89:11a“Teach me your way , O Lord, and I will walk in your truth”

3 responses »

  1. Good one, Christa! Relish the realization that you have time to just sit back and enjoy these moments. I remember when your mom and Kim were playing together in their early years I used to love to eavesdrop on their playtime conversations. (Legos had not been invented yet!) Precious memories!

  2. My boys play with legos all the time! Thank you for reminding me to enjoy these moments rather than thinking how messy the room looks and how painful they are to step on!

Leave a Reply

