The Mall- an exercise in discontent

Standard

I have a new least favorite place to go. Today we had reason to step inside the Mall. At first it was delightful-air conditioned, relaxing and full of potential. We were on a mission. By the end of the trip, I felt as if we were dodging hawkers at every turn. No thank you, I don’t want to try a massage, smell your perfume, answer a few questions, curl my hair, play with remote control cars, get a new cell phone or learn another language. Seriously?  The Mall used to be a place you could peruse at your leisure, looking at what interested you with no one to bother you. I am a pretty friendly person, but this didn’t bring out that side. I was friendly on the outside, but on the inside my defense mechanisms were going into overdrive. We were searching within a time constriction, not to mention financial! Let me shop in peace, please. Do I sound like the beloved Scrooge?  Wait, there’s more… it is easy to go in perfectly content with your life. Then it starts with the smells. “Ohh, I didn’t know I needed a new candle ( pretzel, lotion, _______)” Suddenly we are all starving and in need of the smell of a  fake Pine Christmas tree. What are your thoughts on the Mall?

About christasterken

Committed to a life of purpose. Learning to live abundantly. Embracing creativity. Questioning. Delighting in the comforts of home and family. Determining not to settle only for how things are, but how they could be. Writing is part of who I am, so I trust In God who gave the gift to show me how I can serve Him through it. That is my life…one word at a time. Psalm 89:11a“Teach me your way , O Lord, and I will walk in your truth”

One response »

  1. That is how I felt the last time I visited Castleton Mall!!!!! I used to love to go there whenever I had the time to casually stroll and window shop…but the last time I went I was totally stressed out trying to defend myself for not wanting to purchase things I didn’t want or need…I had to almost run past vendors pretending to be texting, talking on the phone or putting a hurried look on my face while looking at my watch….And like you, I was not at my best when I was finally bamboozled by a guy I couldn’t even understand trying to get me to put lotion on my hands….I said, “I have bought this before…I love it…still have some…I don’t have any money on me for more…don’t need more….thank you….LET ME GO!!!” I still had a lot of time on my hands, so I went to the movie theatre, got some popcorn and watched a movie …. in the dark, by myself….safe from people. I imagined myself as one of those people in an old horror flick, trying to avoid the walking dead …. grabbing for you from above and below and beyond …..and you just run, only to run into them….No, I haven’t been back….I shop online now.

Leave a Reply

