Listen closely

Standard

I love how God works. This morning I got up early with pain in my body. Opening the curtains revealed a delightful surprise, a beautiful morning! The sun had yet to fully rise, and the breeze was blowing gently. Determining to go for a walk, I opened the door and was welcomed by the a cool breeze. That is something that has been absent for a long while! At first glance, our neighborhood is noisy with freeway sounds carrying across the fields. Local early traffic was beginning and the world was active.

I walked around the elementary school which has a large grassy area, showcasing the huge rising orange sun directly in front of me. I became lost in the details, as a flock of 9 large geese grazed in the field. There were cooing birds on the phone lines, and small birds with high trills hopping on the grass. A great mass of black birds swooped up and over on the breeze, in a delicate dance. The corn fields waved as their tassels blew, already turning golden. I could hear the air moving through a small grouping of reeds by a water  pipe. The beauty of the day began with a stunning, awe-inspiring start. What began from pain was turned into pleasure. That is how God works, he takes our broken pieces and creates something beautiful. In James 4:8 we are told “Draw near to me, and I will draw near to you.”  It would have been easier to cuddle up with a blanket and wallow in my misery. Instead, I went out with the intent to seek God’s face. He delivered in a big way. I pray today you will allow Him to surprise you as well…

About christasterken

Committed to a life of purpose. Learning to live abundantly. Embracing creativity. Questioning. Delighting in the comforts of home and family. Determining not to settle only for how things are, but how they could be. Writing is part of who I am, so I trust In God who gave the gift to show me how I can serve Him through it. That is my life…one word at a time. Psalm 89:11a“Teach me your way , O Lord, and I will walk in your truth”

One response »

  1. I have experienced something very similiar. Now that you have my e address I need yours or your phone number so I can call you. I was hoping I would see you on FB IM, bu I never do.

Leave a Reply

