Ideas for fast meals?

Standard

Today I stumble across a gem of a site- a lady who decided to use her crock pot for an entire year and blog about it. The successes AND the flops.  Check her out here… http://crockpot365.blogspot.com/

Now onto the next challenge. I went to a book club the other night and we discussed nutrition and how we are responsible for offering balanced meals to our family. One thing really stuck with me about this interesting conversation; my husband has told me for years he doesn’t have time to eat breakfast, and often lunch. He comes home late at night, often after 12-14 hour days famished. I have often encouraged him to eat, but have I provided it? No, not usually. I would like to work on creating some healthy and delicious freezer breakfasts and lunches. Any ideas?

About christasterken

Committed to a life of purpose. Learning to live abundantly. Embracing creativity. Questioning. Delighting in the comforts of home and family. Determining not to settle only for how things are, but how they could be. Writing is part of who I am, so I trust In God who gave the gift to show me how I can serve Him through it. That is my life…one word at a time. Psalm 89:11a“Teach me your way , O Lord, and I will walk in your truth”

3 responses »

  1. I’ve also been on a quest for fix-n-freeze meals — mostly because I don’t want to cook when I get home, and I find it saves money. Here are a couple of recipes I use:

    Egg casserole:
    12 eggs
    grated cheddar cheese (1-2 cups depending on preference)
    frozen broccoli (or any other vegetable you might like — diced tomatoes, mushrooms, green peppers…)

    Whisk it all together. Bake in the oven at 350 degrees for about 40 minutes. This can be eaten immediately, or cut into squares and put in the freezer.

    For dinner (recipe yet to be named):
    1 pound hamburger
    1 cup uncooked white rice
    1 jar salsa
    Tortilla wraps (these are especially good with sun-dried tomato wraps)
    Grated cheddar cheese (optional)
    sour cream (optional)

    Brown hamburger and drain. Cook the rice. Mix hamburger, rice and jar of salsa together. Scoop into tortillas and garnish with cheddar cheese and/or sour cream.

    This makes more than my family can eat in one sitting, so I take the left-over hamburger/rice/salsa and put it in Tupperware in the freezer for another time.

  2. I make egg sandwiches and freeze them. Just get whole wheat english muffins or the thin bagels (whole wheat). Then you can use one egg or two if you want it heartier. You put the egg in a small bowl and whisk it, microwave it for about 50 seconds (for 1 egg). Take it out, put it on the muffin or bagel, add a piece of cheese, I use provolone or cheddar jack (not processed cheese). Let it cool, wrap in wax paper and put in zip lock baggies. Make a bunch ahead of time and it’s a great start with lots of protein for you man!

    To re-heat it’s easiest if you put in fridge to defrost the night before, microwave for 30 seconds in the morning and it’s and it’s done.

    I also will stock up on protein nutrition bars for a quick grab out the door.

Leave a Reply

