Here I am!

Standard

How wonderful that it has been noticed that my blog has been silent! I am in the midst of relearning the value of margin in life. When we agreed to certain commitments for a season, my logical  mind was practically screaming “warning, chaos ahead!”  Then my other mind, the one I use for traveling the difficult road best avoided, was whispering “but it all will be so much fun…” The lesson lies in a simple truth. Just because we are able to do it all, doesn’t mean we should. It would even seem reasonable to remember that if we are mentally debating if we can fit it all in, take that as a “no” and choose wisely. Life loses its sweetness when we force all the juice out of it. 

There have been wonderful days and the kind where we dream of going to bed. At 9:15 a.m. I am striving for more of a healthy balance. There is a bit of resentment at things that all compete for our family dinner hour. When the kids love what they are doing but lament the lack of time to just “be”, that is a deal breaker for this mom. The years are flowing by, the river of time rapidly swallowing each day. There is a popular adage summarized as “No one looks back wishing they had done more stuff versus spending time enjoying the moment…”  The stuff will alway be there, but this day wont. I mean to enjoy it.

About christasterken

Committed to a life of purpose. Learning to live abundantly. Embracing creativity. Questioning. Delighting in the comforts of home and family. Determining not to settle only for how things are, but how they could be. Writing is part of who I am, so I trust In God who gave the gift to show me how I can serve Him through it. That is my life…one word at a time. Psalm 89:11a“Teach me your way , O Lord, and I will walk in your truth”

One response »

Leave a Reply

