White caterpillars?

Standard

I was recently told that white caterpillars equal an upcoming harsh winter.  We were surprised a few weeks ago to see our first one ever. Have you heard any other weather “forecasts” having to do with nature?

About christasterken

Committed to a life of purpose. Learning to live abundantly. Embracing creativity. Questioning. Delighting in the comforts of home and family. Determining not to settle only for how things are, but how they could be. Writing is part of who I am, so I trust In God who gave the gift to show me how I can serve Him through it. That is my life…one word at a time. Psalm 89:11a“Teach me your way , O Lord, and I will walk in your truth”

2 responses »

  1. LOL, I don’t know who told you THAT, but white caterpillars mean a mild winter and an abundance of black or dark brown caterpillars mean a harsh winter.

    I’m an old wife and have lived in Indiana almost my whole life, including during the Blizzards of ’77 and ’78. I know Hoosier Old Wives’ Tales. LOL.

    One of my favorites is from Uncle John, a WWII vet whom I used to shoot trap with. He is full of Hoosier wisdom and a farmer his whole life. He always says, “If it don’t rain, it’ll be a long dry spell.” I use that one all the time.

  2. LOL Someone is pulling your leg. Crystal is right…it is the dark wooly worms, treading the country roads in abundance, that bring on all the snow. I think the white ones just mean you have a gypsy moth coming into your life soon. 🙂 I am not a native Hoosier, but in Illinois, we had the saying about the wooly worms, too.

    My Oma (grandma) used to say that if the cows were lying down in the pasture, then it was going to rain. They were saving a patch of dry grass for themselves. And don’t you know it…..most of my life I have seen this come true over and over. She was from what is now Ukraine and had a lot of sayings that she passed down. Most were pretty darn accurate.

Leave a Reply

