10 words a day

Standard

Today I had time to write, and the anticipation moved my morning quickly along to the designated hour. “Ahhhh,” I thought to myself. “Now, what to do?” I doodled around a little, and having had much too long of a gap since my last project, I floundered. A casual text to my brother turned into a phone call. Lunch turned into to chocolate chip marathon. Too quickly the time has passed. Frustration mounts.

I am convinced that creativity requires regular workouts. Like muscles atrophy without use, so does a creative spirit. The spark is still there but the strength to force your brain into a single focus track, producing results, is slack. Regular productivity, no matter how small, builds upon itself until the desire to continue drowns out the 1001 distractions.

Todays workout yielded one small writing exercise and a blog post. Not much, but my butt was in the chair. A list would be handy of small projects that can be picked up anytime, when the brain goes blank. Tomorrow is another day. One word upon another until something takes form. Such is this writer’s life, and I love every meandering day. I am putting the guilt trips behind me. Life HAS been busy. We do the best we can and go from there, for spending time lamenting what “should” have been is counterproductive. 10 words a day is better than 10 minutes of  “should”. Now, how many words was this? 🙂

About christasterken

Committed to a life of purpose. Learning to live abundantly. Embracing creativity. Questioning. Delighting in the comforts of home and family. Determining not to settle only for how things are, but how they could be. Writing is part of who I am, so I trust In God who gave the gift to show me how I can serve Him through it. That is my life…one word at a time. Psalm 89:11a“Teach me your way , O Lord, and I will walk in your truth”

3 responses »

  1. When I find myself staring blankly at the screen I go back to my first day of creative writing class so many moons ago…. “Take out a piece of paper and a pen. No talking. For the next seven minutes you will be writing. You will write anything and everything that enters into your mind. If your mind is blank you will write ‘my mind is blank’. You will write ‘um’ and ‘ah’ and ‘I don’t know what I should be writing’ but you will write.” And, you know what? Some of my very best stuff came from those drills. So even if all you can do is Devote Seven Minutes to Free Write – do it. It feels so much better than staring at the blank screen.

    • Great advice, thanks for stopping by! Today I did almost exactly that. Then I got out my Writer’s Toolbox Kit, so much fun. By nightfall I was studying the market guide and never wanting to stop! Ahh, flexing the muscles…feels good

  2. Christa:

    Two of my favorite quotes on writing:

    Writing — the art of applying the seat of the pants to the seat of the chair. — Mary Heaton Vorse

    Writing is easy: All you do is sit staring at the blank sheet of paper until the drops of blood form on your forehead. — Gene Fowler

    So true, my friend, so true! Press on!

    Grace and peace!

    Julie

Leave a Reply

