Doo de doo de dooooo, whaw whawwwww whawwwwwwwwwwww

Standard

I was surprised to open my curtains to view snow this morning. It was a beautiful day, fluffy white flakes randomly landing all over you. Central Indiana snow seems to come with intense winds though. Driving home in the dark, I was delighted to once again see the glowing fields. Snow has a luminescent quality, where the darkest nights seem to light the plains. I had forgotten the impact.

Approaching a stop sign gave me time to study the wind patterns blowing on the ground. You remember old westerns? How they’d meet at high noon with a dust storm lifting up around their feet. The music, “doo de doo de dooooo, whaw whawwwww whawwwwwwwwwwww.” They have nothing on a Midwest  winter landscape.

Replace the dust with snow, rising up to a few feet off the ground. The astonishing speed with which it scurries across the ground, races to blow any loose items into a frenzy. It is quite the sight. I wondered how many others stop to appreciate this unique drama unfolding around us. In the desolate night, beauty lies. Just atop the surface.

About christasterken

Committed to a life of purpose. Learning to live abundantly. Embracing creativity. Questioning. Delighting in the comforts of home and family. Determining not to settle only for how things are, but how they could be. Writing is part of who I am, so I trust In God who gave the gift to show me how I can serve Him through it. That is my life…one word at a time. Psalm 89:11a“Teach me your way , O Lord, and I will walk in your truth”

6 responses »

  1. I was looking out our back window last night and was so in awe of how light the snow is against the darkness.

    Wishing it was rain, not snow. Warmer, not 23. LOL

    We’re hanging in there. Mom’s CA125 count is normal and Dad is out of the hospital. Three weeks of being invited by God to stretch a little further toward Him.

    Tell the girls we say “hi” and thanks for the great way to start the day!

  2. I live in the woods, so it is especially beautiful when the snow falls. Yesterday’s snow didn’t coat the trees as I would have liked, but it was still gorgeous outside. I love winter…..until about January. Then I am done….unless it is a particularly beautiful snowfall and I have nowhere to go. Country roads are beautiful….but not van-friendly when the snow from the fields blows across and drifts.

Leave a Reply

