Tidy tea

Standard

I am  organizationally bipolar. Sometimes I am the biggest closet shover ever, more often  I have become a person who enjoys things having a place. As a child I was a total slob. Who would have guessed that girl would grow up into someone who would organize teas by color? I know, I know. You might be thinking, “Who has time for that?!?!”  I don’t.  But today I made time and am glad!

There is a soothing quality to a well run house, functionally organized…tidy.  The world may be chaotic around us, but our home can be our sanctuary. I keep the joy close to my heart knowing my husband comes home and is comfortable. Our family has more fun knowing where to find things. The hat I wear as a homemaker is well fitted. It is a privilege to keep a home.  We all have the same amount of time, how we choose to spend it is a personal decision. This day, this dedicated hour to organizing, revealed a frustrating trouble spot in our home. Hence, the satisfaction of the tidy teas.

The drawer reminds me of life.  We can shove so much into it, that it’s practically devoid of enjoyment. We bareley can keep tabs on what is in it, let alone weed out the things that are no longer fresh and useful. This holiday season I encourage you to choose your own “drawer” and dump it all out. Analyze what brings you comfort and purge the rest. It might be the best spent hour of your day (aside, of course, from loving on those family members you are blessing in the act).

About christasterken

Committed to a life of purpose. Learning to live abundantly. Embracing creativity. Questioning. Delighting in the comforts of home and family. Determining not to settle only for how things are, but how they could be. Writing is part of who I am, so I trust In God who gave the gift to show me how I can serve Him through it. That is my life…one word at a time. Psalm 89:11a“Teach me your way , O Lord, and I will walk in your truth”

4 responses »

  1. That’s good for a start, but if you really want to be impressive you need to color code all the way and set it up to the color spectrum. Those blue bags in the two different areas are just bothersome! 🙂 haha

Leave a Reply

