Turn to Your Companions

Standard

Today I read Luke 22:31-32.  To make the passage more meaningful to me, I inserted my own name in the place of Simon’s. Have you ever tried this? The Bible is fresh and relevant today, to us, now.

Christa, stay on your toes. Satan has tried his best to separate all of you from me, like chaff from wheat. Christa, I’ve prayed for you in particular that you not give in or give out. When you have come through the time of testing, turn to your companions and give them a fresh start.”

When we do this, we are allowed a new perspective into God’s directives. It is important to generally keep Scripture in context, but when we are developing a closer relationship with God is it a special thing to feel as though he is speaking to us. Personally.

This passage was an excellent reminder of the value of our circumstances. Stay on our toes, don’t let your current struggles separate you from Jesus. But this is what I would like you to stay alert to today; when we have come through our time of testing (and we all have them, right?) turn to your companions and give them encouragement! Dont keep all of your struggles private,for assuredly you know someone else who is barely getting through the same thing. Our life lessons can be shared, for the good of those around us, locally and in a larger sense. Then, those painful circumstances, can become a light to others. We have the amazing opportunity to spread hope. Today, I turn to you and say, it is a new day. Rejoice.

About christasterken

Committed to a life of purpose. Learning to live abundantly. Embracing creativity. Questioning. Delighting in the comforts of home and family. Determining not to settle only for how things are, but how they could be. Writing is part of who I am, so I trust In God who gave the gift to show me how I can serve Him through it. That is my life…one word at a time. Psalm 89:11a“Teach me your way , O Lord, and I will walk in your truth”

Leave a Reply

