Outside Of The Lines

Standard

My beloved friend Ebbie and I are doing a year-long challenge of doing an artistic layout a week. It is a way of keeping us connected from too far away. This presents an additional bonus, I am learning to color outside of the lines. I care less each year about perfection, in fact I am rejecting it. Priorities dictate that some things are just “fine” without precision. I am becoming reckless with my paint swipes, delighted with imperfect circles and even embracing my own handwriting.

Why do we get so caught up in wanting things just right? Doesn’t that often prevent us from finishing anything? Perfectionism can be an excuse. It is a hall pass keeping us from getting penalties if things aren’t what we dreamed. Guess what? It doesn’t matter, it really doesn’t. Do what delights you, say goodbye to that inner critic. Embrace the artistic side of life. It is freeing. Exhilarating. And those imperfect projects? They are a legacy. A page from your life that expresses where you are today. Life is messy, art can be too.

About christasterken

Committed to a life of purpose. Learning to live abundantly. Embracing creativity. Questioning. Delighting in the comforts of home and family. Determining not to settle only for how things are, but how they could be. Writing is part of who I am, so I trust In God who gave the gift to show me how I can serve Him through it. That is my life…one word at a time. Psalm 89:11a“Teach me your way , O Lord, and I will walk in your truth”

2 responses »

  1. I love you Christa. You have such a talented way of putting things into words… in just the right way. Miss you tons, stay warm.

  2. I’ve just read a few things here and am so glad that we have met. What a gift you have! I’m really looking forward to knowing you and reading more of your inspirational/creative thoughts.
    God bless you.

Leave a Reply

