40 Is So Fabulous

Standard

I was gushing to my aunt over how fabulous it is to be 40. It seems as though each decade shows a marked increase in wisdom, causing eager anticipation over the coming years. Many people have great angst over the quick spreading wrinkles, ages spots, and other bodily changes. Some wistfully think of years gone by. I get it. Some days I could cry for hours over how fast the joyous days with my family have sped by. I too, am surprised by the revelations in my mirror. Age has so much to offer though, I generally feel delighted.

While the 20’s held crazy fun, precious babies, and less responsibility… they were also marred with self-doubt and constant analysis of who I really was.

The 30’s have proved an incredible journey of rapid growth; emotionally and spiritually. There were painful losses and increasing spans of depression free years.

The 40’s? In a few short months, I have come to terms with who I am. And I like what I see. There is comfort in the freedom of being a person of great highs and sometimes deep lows. Others opinions rarely leave the sting they once did. I have become a confident (mostly), artistic, whole woman. I look forward to each day. I see the blessings in most moments, and purpose to find them in the one’s that are harder. I anticipate growth, and fear less about what it brings with it.

Things aren’t perfect, but they are sweet. How do you feel about aging?

About christasterken

Committed to a life of purpose. Learning to live abundantly. Embracing creativity. Questioning. Delighting in the comforts of home and family. Determining not to settle only for how things are, but how they could be. Writing is part of who I am, so I trust In God who gave the gift to show me how I can serve Him through it. That is my life…one word at a time. Psalm 89:11a“Teach me your way , O Lord, and I will walk in your truth”

6 responses »

  1. Well said, my friend! I find it interesting that I am now one of the ‘invisible’ ones. Younger adults seem to look right through me now. Disconcerting when I first noticed it, but I find that it affords many more opportunities to observe people unnoticed…. All in all, 40 is a mellow place where I feel more comfortable in my skin than I thought I would.

  2. I turned 40 this month and I am liking it!!! God has brought me so far in my journey of life and faith, that I really didn’t think I would see 40 due to some health concerns….high blood pressure and cholesterol enough to have a stroke and on my way to being a diabetic….But between my dr, God, myself and family plus zumba w/Natalie and Hillary; I am on my way to taking no medicine in June this year. I have lost 46 lbs and my sugar has returned to normal. So I am really blessed and thinking 40 is turning out to be really wonderful!!!! So I just want to say turning 40 has been a huge blessing to me. Thank you God!

  3. You ladies all inspire me! Some days I feel so old and other days I am feeling as energetic as a teenager! In spite of how I feel though, I have learned over and over that God walks with me through it all and I am so blessed! Thanks for the inspiring words Christa and new perspective on aging. You are such a blessing to us all!

Leave a Reply

