I Beg Your Pardon ABC? Really?

Standard

Normally I don’t use this blog for any type of controversial information. This did catch my eye, and offend me. I think after flipping on the TV and coming across the Real Housewives of Orange County, the connection began. There is one woman who adamantly claims her positions on Christianity, yet her behavior reminds me much more of the days when I did not know Christ. Certainly our personal beliefs our just that, personal. When we choose to make them public, we then must accept the responsibility that comes along with knowing that Christians will then be lumped together based on exhibited behaviors.  I don’t judge the woman, I constantly struggle to live above reproach myself, but I hope that when we share our testimony in one breath, we don’t turn and give credibility to the mocking of our faith in the next.  I am not a person eaily offended, I understand the world we live in. This strikes me as tasteless and hateful. Off the soapstand, here is what caught my eye…

The ABC network is currently working on a pilot for a prime-time program called “Good Christian B-tches.”

It’s a Christian-bashing version of ABC’s current “Desperate Housewives.” The show centers on a recently divorced mother of two who moves back to the affluent neighborhood where she grew up to find herself in the whirling midst of gossip, Botox and fraud.

Disney-owned ABC has no reservations about creating hate speech against Christians, but you can be sure they would never consider a show called “Good Muslim B-tches” or “Good Jewish B-tches.” (as they shouldn’t!)

With a title like “Good Christian B-tches,” you can imagine what kind of show it will be. Even if they change the title, the content will still mock people of faith.

TAKE ACTION

Sign a petition to ABC and parent company Disney to drop all plans to air the anti-Christian program “Good Christian B-tches.”

We’ll add your petition to thousands of other voices in also urging advertisers to place it on their “do not advertise” list and consider pulling all ads from the ABC network in protest of this Anti-Christian bigotry.

Please let your local ABC station know that you will pressure local advertisers to pull their advertising business from the show and station, should it choose to air the program. You can find your local station’s contact information here.

Action Link
* http://secure.afa.net/afa/activism/signpetition.asp?id=1920

About christasterken

Committed to a life of purpose. Learning to live abundantly. Embracing creativity. Questioning. Delighting in the comforts of home and family. Determining not to settle only for how things are, but how they could be. Writing is part of who I am, so I trust In God who gave the gift to show me how I can serve Him through it. That is my life…one word at a time. Psalm 89:11a“Teach me your way , O Lord, and I will walk in your truth”

7 responses »

  1. That’s terrible that they’re doing that! I hope the petition works and that they stop the show right now. I’ll be praying about this issue! Thanks for letting us know!

    • Cindy, I actually agree with you and often choose to not give any hype to things in this vein. Something about this just made me feel I needed to speak up. I respect your opinion and urge readers to consider both ways…Thanks!

  2. Since I hadn’t heard about this ridiculous but cunningly calculated projected, your blog today caught me off guard. I googled the show title just to make sure this wasn’t a false rumor, but the project is a bona fide ABC show in the works. I’ll point out that the grand “they” out there in Hollywood also don’t feel it necessary to mock astrologists, or Buddhists, or Hindus. But portraying Christians as wimps or hypocrites is a regular theme. The writers and directors may actually believe they are coming up with these ideas, but I believe they are just pawns in the claws of a more sinister force invisibly behind the scenes. Satan most easily manipulates those who don’t even believe he exists.

  3. I think it has less to do with the “christianity” of it and more to do with protecting womanhood. I never want to be refered to as a b-tch. And I don’t think I want my baby sister turning on the tv and running across a tv show that titles women as b-tches.

Leave a Reply

