Daily Archives: March 13, 2011

Emphatic NO on Rango

Standard

Today is my daughters 13th birthday and we took her to see the movie Rango. This is my first ever movie review, and that is how much I detested this flick. Seriously, is this for kids? I wasn’t sure with the gazillionth use of the word “hell” as in “Where do you think I am from?” “That is where I am going to take you” and my personal fave “Go to __”  What??? This is an audience of kids, out for a day of family entertainment. How about the environmentalist message? Or was it a western? A comedy? Still not sure. The special effects were extremely impressive, but birds singing about ridding someone of their “cojones” just made me sort of sad. Not because I don’t have a sense of humor, but because a) we wasted two hours of our life  b) we wasted money c) that our culture has become so comfortable with this type of stuff that perhaps the movie makers just don’t think anyone will mind? Can’t we have humor without the language? So there you have it, my (rant) and review of what NOT to take your kids to see.