Emphatic NO on Rango

Standard

Today is my daughters 13th birthday and we took her to see the movie Rango. This is my first ever movie review, and that is how much I detested this flick. Seriously, is this for kids? I wasn’t sure with the gazillionth use of the word “hell” as in “Where do you think I am from?” “That is where I am going to take you” and my personal fave “Go to __”  What??? This is an audience of kids, out for a day of family entertainment. How about the environmentalist message? Or was it a western? A comedy? Still not sure. The special effects were extremely impressive, but birds singing about ridding someone of their “cojones” just made me sort of sad. Not because I don’t have a sense of humor, but because a) we wasted two hours of our life  b) we wasted money c) that our culture has become so comfortable with this type of stuff that perhaps the movie makers just don’t think anyone will mind? Can’t we have humor without the language? So there you have it, my (rant) and review of what NOT to take your kids to see.

About christasterken

Committed to a life of purpose. Learning to live abundantly. Embracing creativity. Questioning. Delighting in the comforts of home and family. Determining not to settle only for how things are, but how they could be. Writing is part of who I am, so I trust In God who gave the gift to show me how I can serve Him through it. That is my life…one word at a time. Psalm 89:11a“Teach me your way , O Lord, and I will walk in your truth”

3 responses »

  1. I’m with you…I took my two grandchildren to see this movie…it was the first day and I hadn’t heard any reviews yet…but the previews looked funny and the kids wanted to go…and yes, I can count 3 times “hell” was used, “damn” was used once, and once when the hawk was carrying off someone, it hollered, “Son of a biiiiiiiii”….everytime one of these profanities was used I looked at my 10-year-old granddaughter and our eyes got big and I mouthed, “What?” and she just laughed!!! Now the 6-year-old grandson repeated over and over that scene with the hawk after the movie…he thought that was hilarious…I can think of a whole lot of other words that could have been just as funny in that slot and could be repeatable…Not only did I not like the language, I don’t like “dark” movies…you know, no color…drab …grays, browns….not pleasing to the eyes or imagination…and it is hard to find compassion when the most lovable characters were lizards and possuums…this movie was no “Tangled”…now there was a delightful, colorful, musical and funny movie…I loved that! I got on facebook as soon as we got home and warned the other mothers/grandmothers out there that if you don’t want your kids exposed to objectionable language, find another movie!

  2. We took our children to the movies over the weekend. We wanted to see this one but thankfully did the reviews from PluggedIn before. We’ve had too many regrets in the past. You can’t even be safe with a PG rating anymore. Now, we always review the movie beforehand.

Leave a Reply

