Painted Buntings

Standard

I wrote a short story that included a brief sentence about the painted buntings flying, and  I’d chosen them in relation to their favored regions. Today I saw a wonderful picture of them in a calendar, and wanted to share with you how amazing the colors of the world are. Hummingbirds aren’t the only ones with showy iridescence! Robins are making themselves boldly known in my yard now. Last year in Colorado Magpies were abundant…I was so enamored I had to email my grandma a picture to help me identify them. So many of our grandparents love birdwatching, let’s take a cue from them and peek into this soul delighting world. They are truly entertaining.

What kind of bird do you look forward to seeing each spring?

 

About christasterken

Committed to a life of purpose. Learning to live abundantly. Embracing creativity. Questioning. Delighting in the comforts of home and family. Determining not to settle only for how things are, but how they could be. Writing is part of who I am, so I trust In God who gave the gift to show me how I can serve Him through it. That is my life…one word at a time. Psalm 89:11a“Teach me your way , O Lord, and I will walk in your truth”

2 responses »

  1. I always look forward to seeing the first robin. That’s a sure sign that spring is on its way. For color I’d have to say it’s a tie between the bluebird and the goldfinch. They are brillant in their spring feathers. Then there’s always the cardinal… this list could get very long. I’d better quit…
    Nice post, Christa!

  2. There is “the” bird! I have a special place in my heart for bluebirds due to a brief, yet enduring appearance in my life of a true saint of God. Bluebirds were special to her and gave her confidence to weather such difficulties as she focused on God’s constant, loving, unconditional presence. I, too, have adopted it as “my” bird. 🙂 I also love hummingbirds because not only are they beautiful, but they are always searching for the “sweetness” in life that sustains them. I read that in a Beverly Lewis novel, and that thought has remained with me. I want to always look for the sweetness that sustains me in life, too. Wonderful post, friend.

Leave a Reply

