Skunked?

Standard

There once was a vacationing girl, sleeping deeply on her aunt’s couch in Colorado. Something odd tickled her nose, nostrils flaring as she awoke grimacing. Someone had let the dog back in. Our dog. Skunked. Said dog had long beautiful fur, a Wolf/Huskie mix of carmel and white. Every single hair fiber seemed to be saturated with the calling card of Peppi LePue.  Every common remedy was tried, including the famed ineffective tomato juice bath. What a lasting memory to drive 500 miles home with this stinky pet crowded in next to me on my seat. At least 30 years later just the slightest hint of skunk in the air turns my sniffer up with repulsion. And they are so cute. Go figure. With spring upon us, pets will be going outside once again.  Country Living magazine ran an article in March 2010 by veterinarian Rob Sharp. Here is his solution should your pet get sprayed.

“Mix a 32-ounce bottle of hydrogen peroxide with a quarter cup of baking soda and two teaspoons of liquid dish detergent, and apply to your pet’s wet coat. Let the solution stay on the dog’s hair for five to 10 minutes, then rinse well and repeat, if needed. This recipe usually works like a charm. And if you’re wondering why I haven’t mentioned tomato juice here, that’s because it doesn’t work.”
About christasterken

Committed to a life of purpose. Learning to live abundantly. Embracing creativity. Questioning. Delighting in the comforts of home and family. Determining not to settle only for how things are, but how they could be. Writing is part of who I am, so I trust In God who gave the gift to show me how I can serve Him through it. That is my life…one word at a time. Psalm 89:11a“Teach me your way , O Lord, and I will walk in your truth”

One response »

  1. I had a similar experience, but now I love the smell of skunk. Go figure — it reminds me of a long ago childhood growing up in the woods . . . . and it brings back good memories that now I can laugh at. My dog got skunked the first day of Junior High and no matter how many times I took a shower before the bus, obviously changed clothes, etc. the smell was with me on that first day in a new school.

Leave a Reply

