Spring Cleaning Part 1

Standard

Remember spring cleaning? When I was a child we moved through the house, dusting and vacuuming. We cleaned windows until they were spotless. It was hard work but always rewarding at the end.

Seasons encourage behaviors.  Fall reminds me of harvest time, brisk air inviting us to watch the changing leaves fly by. Winter is when I snuggle indoors with my family, cozy away from the elements. Spring brings a welcome release of pent-up energy. It also reminds us of renewal as the hard ground softens, and green begins to shoot forth with the promise of life. It is the break before the heat of summer when we delight in being outside. Life from inside the home begs for some freshness as well.

Spring clearly encourages purging, when garage sales start dotting the landscape. I tend to look through the house with a  critical eye, deciding that I have too much stuff. That our family has more than enough. We go through the house (some with more enthusiasm than the rest) deciding to give away things that others could be using. Throwing away things that are broken. If you are anything like me, this is the hard part. I can part with the good stuff easily enough, but parting with things that “might” be something amazing with a bit of work is far more difficult.

This year is especially fruitful. I came to the realization that much of what we were holding on to was really me, not we. We have moved many times, and each time I became more reluctant to let go of things that might be just right for the next house. Things to make it feel like home. We have been here over 2 years and it hit me. This is our home, just like it is. There is no joy anymore in holding on to stuff in boxes, unseen, unenjoyed…just in case. This life, right now, is perfect because we are living in the moment.

We have stuff galore.We stagger under the weight, until we start to let go.  If we don’t, there is not room in our life for the new. This applies to material things, memories, emotional baggage. Clean it out.

About christasterken

Committed to a life of purpose. Learning to live abundantly. Embracing creativity. Questioning. Delighting in the comforts of home and family. Determining not to settle only for how things are, but how they could be. Writing is part of who I am, so I trust In God who gave the gift to show me how I can serve Him through it. That is my life…one word at a time. Psalm 89:11a“Teach me your way , O Lord, and I will walk in your truth”

2 responses »

  1. I am already there- been there for a while, in fact. You would not believe the clean out from Allison’s closet alone! lol

Leave a Reply

