Hospitable

Standard

I went to a friend’s house yesterday, and she was reluctant for me to come in lest I think the house was not tidy. This is not an isolated occurence among women. We often bemoan the fact that our house is smaller than so and so’s, we are not as tidy as she is, that the dust bunnies are larger than the furniture. This has got to stop. The reality is, who cares?  We are so much more than our homes, let us not allow our circumstance to dictate our hospitality. God clearly dictates that we should extend hospitality;  it doesn’t have to mean a lavish dinner, lodging or otherwise large expenditures of time and/or money.  Sharing. It can be that simple.

My friend did let me in of course. Her home was beautiful in my eyes.

We enjoy sharing time with people. Space with people. Whether on a lumpy old couch, outside on a walk, working alongside each other. The sharing of our lives is what the heart of hospitality is about! Not convenience.  That might sound harsh, and I have been there myself sadly, in times where we wish we could do more for someone if only life wasn’t so ________!

What regret this leaves us with. What emptiness it leaves therecipient with. Consider these words, let us live our lives with generosity of spirit…we are the ones who will be blessed. That is the greatest surprise. God didn’t command us to love our neighbors only for their benefit, though that is the fruitful side effect. It is a salve for our soul.

My friend? When it was time to go she ran in the house saying, “Wait…”

Out she came with a small jar and scissors. She bent down to gather daffodils and hyacinth to send home with me. Flowers I admired when I arrived. A beautiful, fragrant gift. From one heart to another. These are the gifts that are simple, yet profound. She didn’t just hand me a beautiful bouquet, she handed me her love in a container. A token of friendship. Let not a day go by that we don’t look around, smile and share ourselves. One gesture can make a impactful difference in someone’s life. We might not see it, and it doesn’t matter if we ever find out, for by the physical act of doing we are already rewarded.

About christasterken

Committed to a life of purpose. Learning to live abundantly. Embracing creativity. Questioning. Delighting in the comforts of home and family. Determining not to settle only for how things are, but how they could be. Writing is part of who I am, so I trust In God who gave the gift to show me how I can serve Him through it. That is my life…one word at a time. Psalm 89:11a“Teach me your way , O Lord, and I will walk in your truth”

3 responses »

  1. Wow, after the thoughts going through my mind today, this post nearly brought me to tears, when EVERY single friend of mine’s home is always cleaner than mine. I felt like such a failure today in so many ways. I can definitely do better, not for others, but for myself and my boys, but I need to do it more for God’s glory and to be a blessing to my family and friends when it comes time to show hospitality.

    Thanks for dropping by Woven by Words. I’m signing up for your RSS feed.

    ~Mimi

  2. I am so guilty of this. Matt will casually suggest someone stopping over and I set off in full bore panic mode. Funny thing is, I never judge anyone’s home. I am always simply there for their company – that I treasure greatly. I think my panic (and immediate super cleaning frenzy) is that I’m afraid I’ll be judged as not a good wife/partner. Like a good wife would do A, B and C and if I can’t do C then obviously I’m not good enough. I never once thought of it as God commanding us to extend hospitality…. and yet I know plenty of examples in the bible that show we should (regardless of financial circumstance, how large our home is, or how much dust is on the blades of the ceiling fan). Thank you for your post!

Leave a Reply

