Dandelion Curse

Standard

I admit it, I championed their cause when they first started blooming. I staunchly defended them to my husband as he planned his assault on their masses..

“How can you call them weeds?” I cried, “Who are we to decide a beautiful flower shouldn’t live in our grass?” I am not exaggerating here. I really wanted them to stay. So cute. So happy.

Then they betrayed me. In spite of my beloveds aggressive war against them, they not only stayed…they multiplied.

Now, I love to be a good hostess but seriously?!? They are totally hogging all the grass. AND turning into crunchy, bristly monstrous things. Yes, weeds. I was wrong, so wrong. I apologize husband. You were right all along.

Any ideas for tackling these aggressors called dandelions? How to make our garden grow?

About christasterken

Committed to a life of purpose. Learning to live abundantly. Embracing creativity. Questioning. Delighting in the comforts of home and family. Determining not to settle only for how things are, but how they could be. Writing is part of who I am, so I trust In God who gave the gift to show me how I can serve Him through it. That is my life…one word at a time. Psalm 89:11a“Teach me your way , O Lord, and I will walk in your truth”

5 responses »

  1. Unless you want to use harsh chemicals to kill them off (Gary can tell you what we used to use), you just need to pull them. My back can attestify that it is no fun. We are still fighting the good fight.

  2. NO!!!! Christa, you can’t turn to the dark side. This is one of the most beautiful first signs of spring that God gives us. I have often imagined what it would be like to have a whole yard full of them versus green grass. I like grass but YELLOW has so much energy. My husband feels the same way as your husband when it comes to dandelions but I say we should embrace the little suckers. So whenever I see my first dandelion appear in my yard I always pick it and scatter the seeds everywhere. My heart is overwhelmed with joy when I hear my young boys say “Mommy look what we picked for you”. Those little moments wouldn’t be the same without “Dandelions”

  3. Nice thought- but what color arre the leaves? and then when they turn to white balls- energy? come on, Your Dad & Grampa would have a cow if you had those little bugars instead of grass!!!!!lol

Leave a Reply

