Blah, blah, blah. Interested yet?

Standard

Me neither. I am in the midst of writing an article. So far, it feels very much like treading shallow water. I want to dive into the deep waters of writing, and I need to take my readers with me. It is not a difficult thing to produce a nice, tidy piece. It is a completely different experience to produce gritty, raw emotion translated into meaningful sentences. I once read that writers may seem as though they are doing nothing, staring into space, watching the clouds go by. Let it be known, this is actually working! Hard! It is by the staring into space that the magic happens. Feeling utterly dismal slumped in a chair, hating every second of writing, becomes euphoric! The most exhilirating thing that has ever happened to you…all within a two-minute period.

Writers- stick with the blahs. They can, and will, become the stuff that moves hearts.

About christasterken

Committed to a life of purpose. Learning to live abundantly. Embracing creativity. Questioning. Delighting in the comforts of home and family. Determining not to settle only for how things are, but how they could be. Writing is part of who I am, so I trust In God who gave the gift to show me how I can serve Him through it. That is my life…one word at a time. Psalm 89:11a“Teach me your way , O Lord, and I will walk in your truth”

One response »

  1. Why is it that inspiration only seems to strike me when the press of a deadline is crushing me? I feel like a grape, only able to produce fine wine when squished…. I have a Wednesday deadline this week, so I’d better get to a quiet place, stare into space and let the inspiration come, eh?! Blessings to you friend, Rebeca

Leave a Reply

