Priceless Art

Standard

I came across a box while cleaning up some garage piles. Another plus to the spring cleaning we talked about, yes? Look at this treasure. I know Mommy hearts everywhere just heaved an emotional “Awwww♥”.

These piles of pictures saved are priceless. Our youngest made sure to include rainbows over every person for at least a full year of her life. Happy memories are stored up in a simple scrap.

What to do with the 3 inch thick pile of our children’s artwork? Realistically, we know piles of anything don’t add value to our life. I know, I cringe even saying it. It takes some serious purging dedication to part with these early projects. Many home printers now have scanning options built right in. Start preserving these papers before they get lost in moves, damaged by whether or crumpled with age. Scanning allows the option to commorate a few originals and keep  memories of others safely documented.

If a particular drawing warrants keeping, consider framing it. Treat it like the treasure it is. All those scanned items? With the affordable options available at places like Costco or Snapfish, a new world of sharing opens up. This drawing could become a mug to sip my tea out of, a blanket for my parents, a puzzle etc. Don’t be afraid to let go of the piles and explore new ways to enjoy truly priceless art.

About christasterken

Committed to a life of purpose. Learning to live abundantly. Embracing creativity. Questioning. Delighting in the comforts of home and family. Determining not to settle only for how things are, but how they could be. Writing is part of who I am, so I trust In God who gave the gift to show me how I can serve Him through it. That is my life…one word at a time. Psalm 89:11a“Teach me your way , O Lord, and I will walk in your truth”

2 responses »

  1. A friend of mine is so very good about taking a digital photo of all her children’s artwork. (She even edits the photo to include name of child and date. She’s way more organized than myself.) Those pictures are then displayed on a digital photo frame in the living room. True Art for all to enjoy!

Leave a Reply

