Celebrate Cinco De Mayo!

Standard

Celebrate Cinco De Mayo! Growing up in Southern California offered us a rich cultural perspective on this holiday. I am going to offer you a way to have a mini celebration…not authentic food but sharing the essence! Delicious y diversion, todo en una sola  noche (Thanks Bing translator!)

Plan a simple dinner party

1.  Mood   —   Do you have regional cds? Play Salsa music, guaranteed to get you moving

2.  Tablescape —  Put out the most colorful linens you have. It can be a true tablecloth, or a curtain etc. If the colors are bright and festive, it will work. Use things you have to provide a theme. A vase full of dried beans, tortillas rolled up and tied with raffia…get the idea? Most things you already own will do double duty for a party

3.  Food  —- For an authentic Mexican menu, check out a great site like www.allrecipes.com , or use what use have to create something special. Here is an easy plan to make today:

Spicy Sausage Enchiladas…Salad…Rice

Once when I was out of traditional enchilada ingredients, I improvised for my new favorite. You can’t mess this up, measurements not required.

Spicy Sausage Enchiladas

Large can refried beans

1 package hot Jimmy Dean type sausage, cooked

Shredded Pepper Jack cheese

Small can diced green chiles

Flour tortillas

Green enchilada sauce

Easy, easy. Cook meat, simmer for a few minutes with green chilies. Assembly line style, fill tortillas with beans, cheese, meat mixture. Stop short within an inch or so of the edges. You don’t want it to all goo out of the pan when cooking. Roll up, place on thin layer of green sauce. Cover with the rest of sauce. Bake on 350 for 40 minutes (depends on your oven, looking for bubbling sauce, slightly browned edges) with foil on top, remove foil and bake for 5 more minutes. Let stand for 5 minutes before serving.

Salado  Use what you have, add a new item that you don’t normally put in such as dried fruit, nuts, cheeses.

Rice In a pinch, use regular rice and stir in salsa. I know, I know, someone is cringing right now. But in my defense, I did say this was a meal inspired by delicious mexican cooking, not as good as the real thing.

Oh, how I miss the real thing in the Midwest. Anyway, I digress.

Time is never wasted when we teach our kids about other cultures, other cuisines, other precious people.This site can get you started http://holidays.kaboose.com/cinco-de-mayo/

What are some of your favorite themed meals? I plan to start a series on this soon…

About christasterken

Committed to a life of purpose. Learning to live abundantly. Embracing creativity. Questioning. Delighting in the comforts of home and family. Determining not to settle only for how things are, but how they could be. Writing is part of who I am, so I trust In God who gave the gift to show me how I can serve Him through it. That is my life…one word at a time. Psalm 89:11a“Teach me your way , O Lord, and I will walk in your truth”

One response »

Leave a Reply

