“Look At My Strenk!” says a little boy

Standard

Today I had the pleasure of spending some time with a 5 year old friend. I picked him up at preschool and he narrated the world around me, with the eyes of youth. We filled up a bird feeder and watered flowers. My favorite quote was while filling up the watering can.

He was proudly telling me how strong he was, and then he dropped the bucket, pulled up his shirt sleeve and said, “Look at my strenk!” (strength). I squeezed his arm muscles with all the enthusiasm possible.

Big muscles, little boys, and the perfect afternoon.

About christasterken

Committed to a life of purpose. Learning to live abundantly. Embracing creativity. Questioning. Delighting in the comforts of home and family. Determining not to settle only for how things are, but how they could be. Writing is part of who I am, so I trust In God who gave the gift to show me how I can serve Him through it. That is my life…one word at a time. Psalm 89:11a“Teach me your way , O Lord, and I will walk in your truth”

3 responses »

  1. What a beautiful story of a beautiful day, Christa! Now you know why your mom and Kathy and I all chose to work with the “little ones”. Every day is a new adventure with them, and they love to share their discoveries. Love it!

Leave a Reply

