Seeing What You Hear

Standard

It was a delightful surprise to open the window this morning when I saw the bright blue sky. Hoping with mustard size faith that we could have no humidity. It happened! I ran around and have successfully had all the windows open, gentle breeze, birds chirping all day. Movie set perfect.

Even better, a true day of rest. I have been sitting on the front porch for hours reading today. I would glance up and around often, giddy with the sounds around me. The intensity of the sky belied the summer humidity, reminiscent of crisp Fall afternoons. Marshmallow clouds dotted the horizon. Birds called to each other in varying pitches and intensity.

Closing my eyes suddenly, I was filled with the deepest kind of contentment. My eyes were closed yet the world around me was painted vividly in my mind. The two-year old next door riding his tiny bike. Another neighbor works hard to build a play set. Kids riding by on their bikes discussing how to avoid dogs. Across the street a basketball bounces. The smell of good old-fashioned charcoal fills the air from a grill, taking me back to my childhood.

Hours spent without care of the so-called urgent in life. Every moment life-giving, not draining. Fatigue has been plaguing my body for a few days, but this….this simple ordinary afternoon holds grandeur. The average porch seat becomes a portal, seeing God’s hand in sharper focus. Energy slowly comes. But, this rare moment, I have no responsibilityexcept to practice  self-care. And I do. Gratefully. Humbled and rejoicing over the intense wonder of truly, deeply, seeing what I hear around me.

PS. I decided to go back out with a tall cold Chai latte and read some more. Within a few minutes the church a few blocks over started their bells, belting out “What A Friend We Have In Jesus”. Yes, indeed.

About christasterken

Committed to a life of purpose. Learning to live abundantly. Embracing creativity. Questioning. Delighting in the comforts of home and family. Determining not to settle only for how things are, but how they could be. Writing is part of who I am, so I trust In God who gave the gift to show me how I can serve Him through it. That is my life…one word at a time. Psalm 89:11a“Teach me your way , O Lord, and I will walk in your truth”

Leave a Reply

