Summer Art Inspiration

Standard

The Dover Fine Art Instruction catalog came the other day, awakening forgotten dreams. Pages of offerings to teach me anything I wanted to know. Line, color, shading, painting. It was all there in the Dover catalog.

I felt a jolt —“Hey, I forgot! I like to draw and have always wanted to learn how to do it skillfully!” Isn’t it odd how dreams we had as children get shoved to the back of our minds by the practical? I say let’s deliver our lost artistic skill back into our talented hands! Oh, stop. I hear you saying you just aren’t that talented in the arts. Nonsense. We are all created with a talent, often we don’t know what it is until we try!

Here is a perfect example. My mom, Jeni, has been discovering new artistic passions in the last few years.These aren’t skills she knew she possessed. She is stepping outside her comfort zone and just doing. Not for the sake of perfection, though she will admit that is a hard thing to let loose, but for the pure enjoyment of playing. In the play, art is formed. Here is a sample of her recent project. The first photo is her inspiration piece from a book. Next photo is part of a layering process. Finally, completion. Fantastic! ( I am so proud of my mom)

I have a few ideas for getting us started if you’d like to join me.  I am going to order a book and learn some sketching techniques this summer. Right away before I find other stuff I “need” to do. It is important for us not to wait on our dreams. The time is now. If you would enjoy enhancing your artistic skill, browse through a catalog like this and figure out what appeals to you. I am drawn to light and mood. Two favorite artists who capture this are Maxfield Parrish and Alphonse Mucha.  Both have colors and lines that draw me in to inspect further.

Locate two artists that grab you and pinpoint what it is about their art that moves you. Devote some time to express that feeling in your own ways, with your unique viewpoint. Few material things bring as deep of satisfaction for me as exploring a project. I hope your time will awaken a creative side that will surprise you! Remember, the joy is in the practice not the perfection.

About christasterken

Committed to a life of purpose. Learning to live abundantly. Embracing creativity. Questioning. Delighting in the comforts of home and family. Determining not to settle only for how things are, but how they could be. Writing is part of who I am, so I trust In God who gave the gift to show me how I can serve Him through it. That is my life…one word at a time. Psalm 89:11a“Teach me your way , O Lord, and I will walk in your truth”

One response »

  1. I have been drawn to the idea of mixed media and art journals. I love what your mom has done and hope to find my artistic side too.

Leave a Reply

